Cabinet Reshuffle: South Australia

16 April 2024

On Monday 15 April, Premier of South Australia Peter Malinauskas announced a Cabinet reshuffle ahead of the 2026 state election.

Minister Nick Champion will take on an expanded role in charge of a new housing super portfolio that will cover all aspects of housing, housing infrastructure, urban development and planning, including the ministerial responsibilities related to the oversight of SA Water.

After the resignation of Minister Geoff Brock, the Government will continue to have an independent voice in the Cabinet, with Dan Cregan appointed as Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services, as well as Special Minister of State.

As Special Minister of State, Mr Cregan will lead the Government’s implementation of nation-leading political donation reform.

Treasurer Stephen Mullighan will take on an expanded role as Minister for Defence and Space Industries.

Minister Nat Cook will retain critical responsibilities for Human Services and add the portfolio of Minister for Seniors and Ageing Well.

Minister Joe Szakacs will take responsibility for the critical portfolios of Trade and Investment, Local Government and Veterans Affairs.

Minister Tom Koutsantonis will add Regional Roads to his existing portfolio of Infrastructure and Transport.

Assistant Minister Rhiannon Pearce will be Assistant Minister for Junior Sport Participation.

Further information

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant JP Blandthorn on +61 3 9034 3021.

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers on the activities of the South Australian Government are available here.

South Australia Ministry

Premier of South AustraliaHon Peter MalinauskasMember for Croydon
Deputy Premier Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science Minister for Workforce and Population Strategy Minister for Climate, Environment and WaterHon Susan CloseMember for Port Adelaide
Treasurer Minister for Defence and Space IndustriesHon Stephen MullighanMember for Lee
Attorney-General Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Minister for Industrial Relations and Public SectorHon Kyam MaherMember of the Legislative Council
Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Minister for Energy and MiningHon Tom KoutsantonisMember for West Torrens  
Minister for Tourism Minister for Multicultural AffairsHon Zoe BettisonMember for Ramsay  
Minister for Health and WellbeingHon Chris PictonMember for Kaurna
Minister for Child Protection Minister for Women and the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence Minister for Recreation, Sport and RacingHon Katrine HildyardMember for Reynell
Minister for trade and Investment Minister for Local Government Minister for Veterans AffairsHon Joe SzakacsMember for Cheltenham
Minister for Human Services Minister for Seniors and Ageing WellHon Nat CookMember for Hurtle Vale
Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Minister for Forest IndustriesHon Clare ScrivenMember of the Legislative Council
Minister for Education, Training and SkillsHon Blair BoyerMember for Wright
Minister for Small and Family Business Minister for Consumer and Business Affairs Minister for ArtsHon Andrea MichaelsMember for Enfield
Minister for Housing and Urban Development Minister for Housing Infrastructure Minister for PlanningHon Nick ChampionMember for Taylor
Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services Special Minister of StateHon Dan CreganMember for Kavel
Assistant Minister for AutismHon Emily BourkeMember of the Legislative Council
Assistant Minister for Junior Sport ParticipationMrs Rhiannon PearceMember for King

Be informed when news is published