

## Cabinet Reshuffle: South Australia

## 16 April 2024

On Monday 15 April, Premier of South Australia Peter Malinauskas announced a Cabinet reshuffle ahead of the 2026 state election.

Minister Nick Champion will take on an expanded role in charge of a new housing super portfolio that will cover all aspects of housing, housing infrastructure, urban development and planning, including the ministerial responsibilities related to the oversight of SA Water.

After the resignation of Minister Geoff Brock, the Government will continue to have an independent voice in the Cabinet, with Dan Cregan appointed as Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services, as well as Special Minister of State.

As Special Minister of State, Mr Cregan will lead the Government's implementation of nation-leading political donation reform.

Treasurer Stephen Mullighan will take on an expanded role as Minister for Defence and Space Industries.

Minister Nat Cook will retain critical responsibilities for Human Services and add the portfolio of Minister for Seniors and Ageing Well.

Minister Joe Szakacs will take responsibility for the critical portfolios of Trade and Investment, Local Government and Veterans Affairs.

Minister Tom Koutsantonis will add Regional Roads to his existing portfolio of Infrastructure and Transport.

Assistant Minister Rhiannon Pearce will be Assistant Minister for Junior Sport Participation.

## **Further information**

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant JP Blandthorn on +61 3 9034 3021.

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers on the activities of the South Australian Government are available <a href="here">here</a>.



## **South Australia Ministry**

Title	Minister	Electorate
Premier of South Australia	Hon Peter Malinauskas	Member for Croydon
Deputy Premier Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science Minister for Workforce and Population Strategy Minister for Climate, Environment and Water	Hon Susan Close	Member for Port Adelaide
Treasurer	Hon Stephen Mullighan	Member for Lee
Minister for Defence and Space Industries Attorney-General Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Minister for Industrial Relations and Public Sector	Hon Kyam Maher	Member of the Legislative Council
Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Minister for Energy and Mining	Hon Tom Koutsantonis	Member for West Torrens
Minister for Tourism Minister for Multicultural Affairs	Hon Zoe Bettison	Member for Ramsay
Minister for Health and Wellbeing	Hon Chris Picton	Member for Kaurna
Minister for Child Protection Minister for Women and the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence Minister for Recreation, Sport and Racing	Hon Katrine Hildyard	Member for Reynell
Minister for trade and Investment Minister for Local Government Minister for Veterans Affairs	Hon Joe Szakacs	Member for Cheltenham
Minister for Human Services Minister for Seniors and Ageing Well	Hon Nat Cook	Member for Hurtle Vale
Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Minister for Forest Industries	Hon Clare Scriven	Member of the Legislative Council
Minister for Education, Training and Skills	Hon Blair Boyer	Member for Wright
Minister for Small and Family Business Minister for Consumer and Business Affairs Minister for Arts	Hon Andrea Michaels	Member for Enfield
Minister for Housing and Urban Development Minister for Housing Infrastructure Minister for Planning	Hon Nick Champion	Member for Taylor
Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services Special Minister of State	Hon Dan Cregan	Member for Kavel
Assistant Minister for Autism	Hon Emily Bourke	Member of the Legislative Council
Assistant Minister for Junior Sport Participation	Mrs Rhiannon Pearce	Member for King