The First Miles Government  

On the 9th of December, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced her resignation as the Premier of Queensland and Member for Inala. Palaszczuk leaves office as Australia’s longest-serving female Premier.   

On 15th December, following the Parliamentary Labor Caucus meeting, the Hon. Steven Miles MP was elected as the 40th Premier of Queensland. 

The Miles Government has identified the cost of living, housing, education and youth crime as the core part of its agenda. Premier Miles has released Shaping SEQ, available here, the Queensland Government’s long-term vision for the growth challenges in the South East Queensland Region. 

In his inaugural speech, Premier Miles confirmed that an independent delivery authority will be established to review the 2032 Brisbane Olympic master plan.  

He also announced the creation of a new consultation body called the Queensland Leaders Forum. The body will bring together business, industry, community and unions, similar to the approach taken during the pandemic. 

The Queensland Government will introduce legislation for a new emissions reduction target of 75% below 2005 levels by 2035. 

The Hon. Steven Miles MP 

Steven Miles was elected as the Member for Mount Coot-tha at the 2015 Queensland State Election. In 2017, following the abolition of his seat, Miles was elected as the Member for Murrumba.  

Miles held several positions within the Palaszczuk Government most notably as Deputy Premier and Minister for Health and Ambulance Services during the Covid-19 Pandemic.  

He has also served as: 

  • Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning  
  • Minister Assisting the Premier on Olympics Infrastructure 
  • Minister for Regional Development  
  • Minister for Manufacturing and Minister for Water 
  • Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection  
  • Minister for National Parks and the Great Barrier Reef 

Prior to his election, Miles was the Managing Director of Reveille Strategy, a progressive public relations agency specialising in collaborating with unions and other membership organisations. He was the Industrial Relations Director of the Queensland Public Sector Union (now Together), National Campaign Director, and Coordinator of Comprehensive Campaigning for United Voice (now part of the United Workers Union), as well as an advisor to former state treasurer Andrew Fraser. 

He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Journalism, as well as a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) from the University of Queensland. His doctoral thesis was titled “Trade Union Renewal in Australia: Rebuilding Worker Involvement”.  

The Queensland Cabinet 

Five new Ministers have been appointed to the Miles Cabinet, signalling a cabinet refresh as the Government prepares itself for the state election in October 2024. The New Ministers are: 

  • Niki Boyd MP 
  • Bart Mellish MP 
  • Lance McCallum MP 
  • Michael Healy MP 
  • Charis Mullen MP 

The Miles Government will have 19 Ministers, as opposed to 18 in the Palaszczuk Government.  
Ali King, Shane King, Jimmy Sullivan, Jennifer Howard and Corrine McMillan have been elected assistant ministers.  

A PDF version of the Queensland Ministry can also be accessed here.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton’s Queensland director John Jarrett on +61 434 384 745 or Policy and Business Analyst, Ankita Panjratan on +61 448 946 633. 

Minister Portfolio Electorate 
Hon. Steven Miles MP Premier Member for Murrumba 
Hon. Cameron Dick MP Deputy Premier  
Minister for Trade and Investment 
Member for Woodridge 
Hon. Grace Grace MP Minister for State Development and Infrastructure  
Minister for Industrial Relations 
Minister for Racing 
Member for McConnel 
Hon. Shannon Fentiman MP Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services 
Minister for Women 
Member for Waterford 
Hon. Yvette D’ath MP Attorney-General 
Minister for Justice and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence 
Member for Redcliffe 
Hon. Michael De Brenni MP Minister for Clean Economy and Jobs Member for Springwood 
Hon. Meaghan Scanlon MP Minister for Housing, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Public Works Member for Gaven 
Hon. Mark Ryan MP Minister for Police and Community Safety Member for Morayfield 
Hon. Leeanne Enoch MP Minister for Treaty, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships 
Minister for Communities and Minister for the Arts 
Member for Algester 
Hon. Dianne Farmer MP Minister for Education Minister for Youth Justice Member for Bulimba 
Hon. Mark Furner MP Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries 
Minister for Rural Communities 
Member for Ferny Grove 
Hon. Glenn Butcher MP Minister for Regional Development and Manufacturing Minister for Water Member for Gladstone 
Hon. Scott Stewart MP Minister for Resources and Critical Minerals Member for Townsville 
Hon. Leanne Linard MP Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef Minister for Science and Innovation Member for Nudgee 
Hon. Nikki Boyd MP Minister for Fire and Disaster Recovery Minister for Corrective Services Member for Pine Rivers 
Hon. Bart Mellish MP Minister for Transport and Main Roads 
Minister for Digital Services 
Member for Aspley 
Hon. Lance Mccallum MP Minister for Employment and Small Business 
 Minister for Training and Skills Development 
Member for Bundamba 
Hon. Charis Mullen MP Minister for Child Safety, Minister for Seniors and Disability Services 
Minister for Multicultural Affairs 
Member for Jordan 
Hon. Michael Healy MP Minister for Tourism and Sport Member for Cairns 
Assistant Minister Portfolio Electorate 
Bruce Saunders MP Assistant Minister for Train Manufacturing, Regional Development and Jobs. Member for Maryborough 
Julieanne Gilbert MP Assistant Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Industrial Relations and Racing Member for Mackay 
Brittany Lauga MP Assistant Minister for Health and Regional Health Infrastructure Member for Keppel 
Ali King MP Assistant Minister for Housing, Local Government, Planning and Public Works Member for Pumicestone 
Jennifer Howard MP Assistant Minister for Treasury, Trade and Investment Member for Ipswich 
Shane King MP Assistant Minister for Clean Energy Jobs Member for Kurwongbah 
Corrine Mcmillan MP Assistant Minister for Education and Youth Justice Member for Mansfield 
James Sullivan MP Assistant Minister for Justice and Veterans Affairs Member for Stafford 

About the author

Download the Paper

Be informed when news is published