

The First Miles Government

On the 9th of December, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced her resignation as the Premier of Queensland and Member for Inala. Palaszczuk leaves office as Australia's longest-serving female Premier.

On 15th December, following the Parliamentary Labor Caucus meeting, the Hon. Steven Miles MP was elected as the 40th Premier of Queensland.

The Miles Government has identified the cost of living, housing, education and youth crime as the core part of its agenda. Premier Miles has released Shaping SEQ, <u>available here</u>, the Queensland Government's long-term vision for the growth challenges in the South East Queensland Region.

In his inaugural speech, Premier Miles confirmed that an independent delivery authority will be established to review the 2032 Brisbane Olympic master plan.

He also announced the creation of a new consultation body called the Queensland Leaders Forum. The body will bring together business, industry, community and unions, similar to the approach taken during the pandemic.

The Queensland Government will introduce legislation for a new emissions reduction target of 75% below 2005 levels by 2035.

The Hon. Steven Miles MP

Steven Miles was elected as the Member for Mount Coot-tha at the 2015 Queensland State Election. In 2017, following the abolition of his seat, Miles was elected as the Member for Murrumba.

Miles held several positions within the Palaszczuk Government most notably as Deputy Premier and Minister for Health and Ambulance Services during the Covid-19 Pandemic.

He has also served as:

- Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
- Minister Assisting the Premier on Olympics Infrastructure
- Minister for Regional Development
- Minister for Manufacturing and Minister for Water
- Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection
- Minister for National Parks and the Great Barrier Reef

Prior to his election, Miles was the Managing Director of Reveille Strategy, a progressive public relations agency specialising in collaborating with unions and other membership organisations. He was the Industrial Relations Director of the Queensland Public Sector Union (now Together), National Campaign Director, and Coordinator of Comprehensive Campaigning for United Voice (now part of the United Workers Union), as well as an advisor to former state treasurer Andrew Fraser.



He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Journalism, as well as a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) from the University of Queensland. His doctoral thesis was titled "Trade Union Renewal in Australia: Rebuilding Worker Involvement".

The Queensland Cabinet

Five new Ministers have been appointed to the Miles Cabinet, signalling a cabinet refresh as the Government prepares itself for the state election in October 2024. The New Ministers are:

- Niki Boyd MP
- Bart Mellish MP
- Lance McCallum MP
- Michael Healy MP
- Charis Mullen MP

The Miles Government will have 19 Ministers, as opposed to 18 in the Palaszczuk Government.

Ali King, Shane King, Jimmy Sullivan, Jennifer Howard and Corrine McMillan have been elected assistant ministers.

A PDF version of the Queensland Ministry can also be accessed here.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's Queensland director John Jarrett on +61 434 384 745 or Policy and Business Analyst, Ankita Panjratan on +61 448 946 633.

Minister	Portfolio
Hon. Steven Miles MP	Premier
Hon. Cameron Dick MP	Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Trade and Investment
Hon. Grace Grace MP	Minister for State Development and Infrastructure, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing
Hon. Shannon Fentiman MP	Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women
Hon. Yvette D'ath MP	Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence
Hon. Michael De Brenni MP	Minister for Clean Economy and Jobs
Hon. Meaghan Scanlon MP	Minister for Housing, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Public Works
Hon. Mark Ryan MP	Minister for Police and Community Safety
Hon. Leeanne Enoch MP	Minister for Treaty, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, Minister for Communities and Minister for the Arts
Hon. Dianne Farmer MP	Minister for Education and Minister for Youth Justice
Hon. Mark Furner MP	Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries and Minister for Rural Communities



Hon. Glenn Butcher MP	Minister for Regional Development and Manufacturing and Minister for Water
Hon. Scott Stewart MP	Minister for Resources and Critical Minerals
Hon. Leanne Linard MP	Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef and Minister for Science and Innovation
Hon. Nikki Boyd MP	Minister for Fire and Disaster Recovery and Minister for Corrective Services
Hon. Bart Mellish MP	Minister for Transport and Main Roads and Minister for Digital Services
Hon. Lance Mccallum MP	Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development
Hon. Charis Mullen MP	Minister for Child Safety, Minister for Seniors and Disability Services and Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Hon. Michael Healy MP	Minister for Tourism and Sport

Assistant Minister	Portfolio
Bruce Saunders	Assistant Minister For Train Manufacturing, Regional Development, And Jobs.
Julieanne Gilbert	Assistant Minister For State Development, Infrastructure, Industrial Relations And Racing
Brittany Lauga	Assistant Minister For Health And Regional Health Infrastructure
Ali King	Assistant Minister For Housing, Local Government, Planning And Public Works
Jennifer Howard	Assistant Minister For Treasury, Trade And Investment
Shane King	Assistant Minister For Clean Energy Jobs
Corrine Mcmillan	Assistant Minister For Education And Youth Justice
James Sullivan	Assistant Minister For Justice And Veterans Affairs