WA Cabinet Reshuffle

On the 13th of December 2022, Premier Mark McGowan announced two new Ministers will join his Cabinet team following a Special Caucus Meeting involving all Labor Members of Parliament. 

  • Wanneroo MLA Sabine Winton will serve as Minister for Child Protection, Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence, Community Services, and the new portfolio of Early Childhood Education.
  •  South West MLC Jackie Jarvis will serve as Minister for Agriculture and Food, Forestry, and Small Business

They will take the places of retiring Minister Alannah MacTiernan and outgoing Water Minister Dave Kelly, who announced last week he would be stepping down from cabinet. 

New Portfolio allocations were announced today, the 14th of December:

Key Ministerial changes to note are:

  • Education Minister Sue Ellery, who has announced her retirement from politics at the 2025 election, will continue to serve in the Cabinet as Minister for  Finance, Commerce, and Women’s Interests
  • Tony Buti will take on the Education portfolio and continue to serve as Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, and Citizenship and Multicultural Interests.
  • Simone McGurk will now serve as the Minister for Training, Water, and Youth.
  • Deputy Premier Roger Cook will add the Hydrogen Industry portfolio to his existing responsibilities.
  • Don Punch will now serve as Minister for Regional Development and continue to serve as Minister for Disability Services, Fisheries, and Seniors and Ageing.
  • Reece Whitby will add the Racing and Gaming portfolio to his existing responsibilities 
  • Stephen Dawson has been appointed as Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy; Emergency Services, Medical Research, and Volunteering

Five new Parliamentary Secretaries have been appointed:

  • Jodie Hanns will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier 
  • Dr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon. Sue Ellery MLC
  • Meredith Hammat will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA
  • Pierre Yang will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Simone McGurk
  • Hannah Beazley will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Further information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton’s WA director Emma Ramage at [email protected] or on +61 430 811 929. 

A PDF printable version of the WA Cabinet is available here.

MinisterPortfolioParliamentary Secretary
Hon Mark McGowan MLAPremier; Treasurer; Public Sector Management; Federal-State RelationsMs Jodie Hanns MLA
Hon Roger Cook MLADeputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Hydrogen Industry; Tourism; ScienceMs Jessica Shaw MLA
Hon Sue Ellery MLCFinance; Commerce; Women’s InterestsDr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan MLA
Hon Stephen Dawson MLCEmergency Services; Innovation and the Digital Economy; Medical Research; VolunteeringMs Hannah Beazley MLA
Hon David Templeman MLACulture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; HeritageHon Samantha Rowe MLC
Hon John Quigley MLAAttorney General; Electoral AffairsHon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Paul Papalia MLAPolice; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans IssuesMr Terry Healy MLA
Hon Bill Johnston MLAMines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services; Industrial RelationsHon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Rita Saffioti MLATransport; Planning; PortsMrs Jessica Stojkovski MLA
Hon Dr Tony Buti MLAEducation; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural InterestsMr Yaz Mubarakai MLA & Ms Meredith Hammat MLA
Hon Simone McGurk MLATraining; Water; YouthHon Pierre Yang MLC
Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLAHealth; Mental HealthMr Simon Millman MLA
Hon John Carey MLAHousing; Lands; Homelessness; Local GovernmentMrs Jessica Stojkovski MLA
Hon Don Punch MLARegional Development; Disability Services; Fisheries; Seniors and AgeingHon Kyle McGinn MLC
Hon Reece Whitby MLAEnvironment; Climate Action; Racing and GamingHon Darren West MLC
Hon Sabine Winton MLAEarly Childhood Education; Child Protection; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services
Hon Jackie Jarvis MLCAgriculture and Food; Forestry; Small Business
Mr David Michael MLACabinet Secretary

Be informed when news is published