Net Zero Economy Agency

On 14 June 2023, the Albanese Labor Government announced the Chair and Advisory Board of the Net Zero Economy Agency. The Agency, to commence on 1 July 2023, sits within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C) and will be tasked with the design and establishment of the legislated Net Zero Authority.

The Agency will begin engaging with key regions, industries, investors and others, to identify strategies for the Australian Government to support the net zero transformation, as well as consulting on the functions and powers of the new authority, prior to the development of legislation. The Net Zero Economy Agency will also begin some of the core functions of the Net Zero Authority.

Once legislated, the Net Zero Authority will have three key tasks:

  1. Support workers in emissions-intensive sectors to access new employment, skills and support as the net zero transformation continues.
  2. Coordinate programs and policies across government to support regions and communities to attract and take advantage of new clean energy industries and set those industries up for success.
  3. Help investors and companies to engage with net zero transformation opportunities.

The Hon Greg Combet AM has been appointed as Chair of the Net Zero Economy Agency. Combet was Secretary of the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) from 1999 to 2007, and a member of the Australian House of Representatives from 2007 to 2013. He served as Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency and Minister for Industry and Innovation in the Gillard government. Combet is currently the Chair of IFM Investors and Industry Super Australia.

In addition to the appointment of Greg Combet as Chair, the Government has also appointed the following Advisory Board:

  • Professor Ross Garnaut AC – Professor Emeritus in Economics at the University of Melbourne and Professor Emeritus, College of Asia & the Pacific at ANU;
  • Professor Paul Simshauser AM – CEO of Powerlink Queensland and Professor of Economics at Griffith University;
  • Anthea Harris – CEO of the Australian Energy Regulator;
  • Nicole Lockwood – Chair of Infrastructure WA, board member of NBN and former Shire President of Roebourne;
  • Kellie Parker – CEO of Rio Tinto Australia;
  • Michele O’Neil – President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions;
  • Professor Robynne Quiggin – Pro-Vice Chancellor of UTS and part of Steering committee for the First Nations Clean Energy Network;
  • Anna Skarbek – CEO of ClimateWorks, Director of the Green Building Council of Australia, the Centre for New Energy Technologies, the Sustainable Australia Fund, Impact Investment Group, and Sentient Impact Group;
  • Tony Maher – General President of the Mining and Energy Union; 
  • Laura Tyler – Chief Technical Officer, BHP.

Further information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton’s Managing Director Simon Banks on +61 419 638 587.

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers are available here.

Download the Paper

Be informed when news is published