NSW Labor Government Ministry

On Tuesday 4 April 2023, Premier Chris Minns announced his new ministry, reducing the cabinet to 22 ministers.

For the first time in the state’s history, the New South Wales ministry will comprise of 50% women (excluding the Premier), with a number of portfolios held by women for the first time in history.

Prue Car will take on the role of Deputy Premier, as well as the portfolio of Education.

The government will also see a woman leading the upper house for the first time, with Penny Sharpe appointed as the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, heading the portfolios of Environment, Heritage, Climate Change and Energy.

Attorney General Michael Daley is the only former minister to be sworn into the new cabinet.

Some slight changes have occurred to the shadow cabinet, with Mr, Harris becoming Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty Minister as well as the Minister for Gaming.

The portfolio of Energy is no longer headed by Jihad Dib, however, he will be fronting the Customer Service and Digital Government portfolios.

Premier Minns is supporting a member of the cross bench, Greg Piper who represents the area of Lake Macquarie, as speaker in a bid to protect the Labor vote on the floor in a minority government.

The major focus of the Minns government will be the following policy areas which were committed prior to their election:

  • Rebuilding NSW essential services
  • Removing the wages cap for essential workers including nurses, teachers, paramedics, police officers and firefighters
  • Dealing with the crises occurring in the school and hospital systems
  • Combatting the energy crises
  • Helping mitigate the effects of the rising cost of living.

Minns Ministry | April 2023

The Hon. Chris Minns MPPremier
The Hon. Prudance Car MPDeputy Premier
Minister for Education and Early Learning
Minister for Western Sydney
The Hon. Penny Sharpe MLCMinister for Climate Change
Minister for Energy
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Heritage
The Hon. John Graham MLCSpecial Minister of State
Minister for Roads
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy
Minister for Jobs and Tourism
The Hon. Daniel Mookhey MLCTreasurer
The Hon. Ryan Park MPMinister for Health
Minister for Regional Health
Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast
The Hon. Jo Haylen MPMinister for Transport
The Hon. Paul Scully MPMinister for Planning and Public Spaces
The Hon. Sophie Cotsis MPMinister for Industrial Relations
Minister for Work Health and Safety
The Hon. Yasmin Catley MPMinister for Police and Counter-terrorism
The Hon. Jihab Dib MPMinister for Customer Service and Digital Government
Minister for Emergency Services
Minister for Youth Justice
The Hon. Kate Washington MPMinister for Families and Communities
Minister for Disability Inclusion
The Hon. Tara Moriarty MLCMinister for Agriculture
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Western New South Wales
The Hon. Ron Hoenig MPMinister for Local Government
Vice President of the Executive Council
The Hon. Courtney Houssos MLCMinister for Finance
Minister for Natural Resources
The Hon. Stephen Kamper MPMinister for Small Business
Minister for Lands and Property
Minister for Multiculturalism
Minister for Sport
The Hon. Rose Jackson MLCMinister for Water
Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness
Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Youth
Minister for the North Coast
The Hon. Anoulack Chanthivong  MPMinister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading
Minister for Industry and Trade
Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology
Minister for Corrections
The Hon. Timothy Crakanthorp MPMinister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education
Minister for the Hunter
The Hon. David Harris MPMinister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty
Minister for Gaming and Racing
Minister for Veterans
Minister for Medical Research
Minister for the Central Coast
The Hon. Jodie Harrison MPMinister for Women
Minister for Seniors
Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
The Hon. Jennifer Aitchison MPMinister for Regional Transport and Roads
The Hon. Michael Daley MPAttorney General

Parliamentary Office Holders | April 2023

The Hon. Penny Sharpe MLCLeader of the Government in the Legislative Council
The Hon. John Graham MLCDeputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
The Hon. Ron Hoenig MPLeader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly

Download the Paper

Be informed when news is published