The current composition of the Australian Parliament (as of 09/02/2023) 

House of Representatives

Labor Coalition Greens Katter Party Center Alliance Independents 
77 56 11 
  • In December 2022, Andrew Gee MP (NSW) resigned from the National Party to sit on the crossbench as an independent. He will continue to serve as the Member for Calare.  
  • In February 2023, former cabinet Minister Alan Tudge announced his resignation. His Departure will set up a by-election in the Victorian seat of Aston.  


Coalition Labor Greens One Nation Jacqui Lambie Network Independents United Australia Party 
33 26 11
  • Senator Jim Molan AO DSC died on 16 January 2023. The identity of the new NSW Liberal Senator to fill the resulting “casual vacancy” is expected to be confirmed following the NSW State election scheduled for 25 March 2023. As the NSW Parliament is not expected to sit prior to then, the seat will likely remain vacant throughout the Autumn Sittings (February-March 2023). Where relevant, the Government is expected to grant a “pair”, meaning the balance of votes within the Senate will not change. 
  • Senator Lidia Thorpe announced on the 6th of February, 2023 that she has resigned from the Australian Greens and will continue to serve on the Cross Bench. 

Download the Paper

Be informed when news is published