New Zealand Cabinet Reshuffle

On Tuesday 31 January 2023, New Zealand’s new Prime Minister Chris Hipkins announced the portfolio allocations of his first Cabinet. The reshuffle comes after the resignation of Jacinda Ardern as Labour Leader and Prime Minister, and in the lead up to the 2023 New Zealand general election on 14 October.

The Cabinet has two new faces, with Ginny Andersen and Barbara Edmonds both receiving promotions.

Grant Robertson has retained his role as Minister of Finance, while losing Infrastructure and becoming Leader of the House.

Jan Tinetti, a former school principal and Associate Education Minister in the Ardern Government, has become Minister for Education.

Dr. Ayesha Verrall, an infectious-diseases physician and former senior lecturer at University of Otago’s Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine has become the 43rd Minister for Health.

First created in 1999 by Prime Minister Helen Clark, Prime Minister Hipkins is reinstating the Minister for Auckland portfolio and allocating it to Michael Wood. In addition to Auckland’s economic significance, the addition of the portfolio coincides with unprecedented flooding in the region.

There are four new Ministers outside of Cabinet; Duncan Webb, Willow-Jean Prime, Rino Tirikatene, and Dr. Deborah Russell.

Download the full list of the Hipkins Cabinet here.

Further information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton’s Managing Director Simon Banks on +61 419 648 587. 

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers are available here.

Download the Paper

Be informed when news is published