Victorian Cabinet Reshuffle

Following the Labor Government’s re-election, Victorian Premier Steve Bracks today announced a major Cabinet reshuffle to reflect his Government’s third term agenda focusing on education, public transport, climate change and mental health. The new Cabinet includes six new members.

Deputy Premier John Thwaites’ takes responsibility for the new expanded water, environment and climate change portfolio. The Premier also announced the creation of a new Office of Climate Change within the Department of Premier and Cabinet, and a new Office of Water within the Department of Sustainability and Environment.

John Lender relinquishes the Finance portfolio to become Minister for Education, while Jacinta Allan will continue in the Education Services portfolio, revamped to include a greater emphasis on skills.

Lynne Kosky becomes the Minister for Public Transport, dropping her previous Education portfolio. New member Tim Pallas has been fast-tracked to the Cabinet, taking responsibility for Roads and Ports.

Lisa Neville moves from the backbench to become Victoria’s first Minister for Mental Health. Premier Bracks also announced that a new Mental Health and Drug and Alcohol Treatment Division will be created in the Department of Human Services.

Justin Madden drops the Sport and Recreation portfolio and becomes the Minster for Planning. James Merlino has joined the frontbench and becomes the Minister for Sport, Recreation and Youth Affairs

Former Cabinet Secretary Richard Wynne has been promoted to the Ministry with responsibility for Housing and Local Government. Former Parliamentary Secretaries Joe Helper and Daniel Andrews have also joined the Cabinet.

New Member of the Legislative Council, Evan Thornley, takes on the newly created position of Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier, with a focus on the National Reform Agenda.

Full lists of the Ministerial and Parliamentary Secretary responsibilities follow:

Victorian Cabinet
Name Portfolio Responsibilities
Steve Bracks Premier
Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Minister for Veterans’ Affairs
John Thwaites Deputy Premier
Minister for Water, Environment and Climate Change
Jacinta Allan Minister for Skills, Education Services and Employment
Minister for Women’s Affairs
Daniel Andrews Minister for Gaming
Minister for Consumer Affairs
Minister Assisting the Premier on Multicultural Affairs
Peter Batchelor Minister for Energy and Resources
Minister for Victorian Communities
Manager of Government Business Legislative Assembly
John Brumby Treasurer
Minister for Regional and Rural Development
Minister for Innovation
Bob Cameron Minister for Police and Emergency Services
Minister for Corrections
Joe Helper Minister for Agriculture
Tim Holding Minister for Finance (incl WorkCover/Transport Accident Commission)
Minister for Tourism
Minister for Information and Communication Technology
Rob Hulls Attorney-General
Minister for Industrial Relations
Minister for Racing
Gavin Jennings Minister for Community Services
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Lynne Kosky Minister for Public Transport
Minister for the Arts
John Lenders Minister for Education
Manager of Government Business Legislative Council
James Merlino Minister for Sport, Recreation and Youth Affairs
Justin Madden Minister for Planning
Lisa Nevillez Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Children
Minister for Aged Care
Tim Pallas Minister for Roads and Ports
Bronwyn Pike Minister for Health
Theo Theophanous Minister for Industry and State Development
Minister for Major Projects
Minister for Small Business
Richard Wynne Minister for Housing
Minister for Local Government
Parliamentary Secretaries
Name Responsibility
Liz Beattie Planning
Elaine Carbines Premier, Arts
Lily D’Ambrosio Victorian Communities
Kaye Darveniza Regional Development
Danielle Green Emergency Services
Ben Hardman Agriculture
Steve Herbert Environment
Rob Hudson Infrastructure
Telmo Languiller Multicultural Affairs
Tony Lupton Industry and Innovation
Jenny Mikakos Justice
Maxine Morand Health
Martin Pakula Transport
Fiona Richardson Education
Evan Thornley Premier (National Reform Agenda)