NSW State Parliament Resumes

NSW State Parliament resumes on September 13

After an eventful three month break, the NSW Parliament resumes on Tuesday, September 13.

During this time, NSW saw the departure of Bob Carr, Dr Andrew Refshauge, and Craig Knowles from the Legislative Assembly – and the resignation of John Brogden as Opposition leader. (Mr Brogden is currently remaining as the MP for Pittwater but has relinquished shadow ministerial responsibilities.)

Both the NSW Legislative Assembly (Lower House) and the NSW Legislative Council (Upper House) resume on Tuesday, September 13 at 2:15pm.

Proceedings of both chambers will be broadcast live via the internet.

The broadcast will be available at http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/

It will be the first time new Premier Morris Iemma, new Deputy Premier Mr John Watkins and his new ministerial line-up assume the treasury benches.

Across the chamber, new Opposition Leader Mr Peter Debnam and his deputy Liberal Leader Mr Barry O’Farrell will assume their respective posts. (Mr O’Farrell was previously deputy Liberal Leader).

The MP for Oxley, Mr Andrew Stoner, was unchanged as Leader of the Nationals.

In the area of legislation, the State Government has indicated it is likely to introduce amendments to Defamation law in NSW this week. Attorney-General Mr Bob Debus has ministerial responsibility for this area.

Also this weekend (Saturday, September 17), three by-elections will be held in NSW.

These by-elections are to replace former Premier Bob Carr (Maroubra); former Deputy Premier, Dr Andrew Refshauge (Marrickville); and former Planning and Infrastructure Minister, Mr Craig Knowles (Macquarie Fields).