NSW Cabinet Reshuffle

NSW Cabinet Reshuffle – August 2005 NSW

Premier, Morris Iemma, released the details of his new cabinet today. There have been no additional changes to personnel other than the three resignations already announced (Bob Carr, Andrew Refshauge and Craig Knowles).

A full listing of positions is attached.

Key changes include:

  • Morris Iemma will be both Premier and Treasurer
  • Carl Scully retains Police and adds Utilities to his portfolio responsibilities (this will include energy and water)
  • John Watkins retains Transport and gains State Development
  • Michael Costa loses Roads and gains Infrastructure (a broad portfolio containing elements from the former DIPNR and including the work to be undertaken by David Richmond)
  • John Hatzistergos loses Justice and Fair Trading and gains Health
  • Frank Sartor loses Utilities and picks up Planning (not including the infrastructure elements moving to Costa) to add to his existing responsibilities for Science and Medical Research and assisting the Health Minister on Cancer
  • Bob Debus adds Arts to his responsibilities as Attorney General and Minister for the Environment
  • Ian Macdonald adds Natural Resources (from DIPNR) and Mineral Resources to his Primary Industries responsibilities
  • Tony Kelly adds Justice and Juvenile Justice to his responsibilities for Emergency Services, Lands and Rural Affairs
  • Diane Beamer loses Planning and gains Fair Trading
  • Joe Tripodi loses Housing and gains Roads
  • Kerry Hickey loses Mineral Resources and gains Local Government

The ministers with no significant change to portfolios are:

  • John Della Bosca (Commerce, SMOS, Industrial Relations, Ageing, Disability Services, Assistant Treasurer)
  • Carmel Tebbutt (Education)
  • Reba Meagher (Community Services, Youth)
  • David Campbell (Regional Development, Illawarra, Small Business)
  • Grant McBride (Gaming and Racing, Central Coast)

Three new ministers will be elected by the Government Caucus next week (two from the Right faction and one from the Left). They will assume the portfolios of:

  • Aboriginal Affairs
  • Ports and Waterways, Assistant Minister for Utilities
  • Housing 1
    NSW Cabinet Reshuffle
Minister Portfolio
Morris Iemma Premier
John Della Bosca Special Minister of State
Industrial Relations
Ageing Disability Services
Assistant Treasurer
Vice President of the Executive Council
Bob Debus Attorney General
Carl Scully Police
John Watkins Transport
State Development
Carmel Tebbutt Education & Training
Michael Costa Finance
The Hunter
John Hatzistergos Health
Frank Sartor Infrastructure and Planning
Redfern and Waterloo
Science and Medical Research
Minister assisting Health (Cancer)
Reba Meagher Community Services Youth
Sandra Nori Tourism & Sport & Recreation
Minister assisting State Development
Ian Macdonald Natural Resources
Mineral Resources
Primary Industries
Tony Kelly Justice
Juvenile Justice
Emergency Services
Rural Affairs
Diane Beamer Western Sydney
Fair Trading
Minister assisting Commerce
Joseph Tripodi Roads
David Campbell Regional Development
The Illawarra
Small Business
Grant McBride Gaming & Racing
Central Coast
Kerry Hickey Local Government Local Government

There are three remaining portfolios to be filled by new Ministers, to be announced next week:

  • Aboriginal Affairs
  • Ports and Waterways, Assistant Minister for Utilities
  • Housing 2