New Gillard Ministry

The New Gillard Ministry, March 2012

This afternoon, Prime Minister Julia Gillard announced the details of a new Ministry and Cabinet.  The re-shuffle comes following the resignation of Kevin Rudd from the position of Minister for Foreign Affairs; and the resignation of Senator Mark Arbib from the Senate, and his positions as Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Small Business, Sport and Manager of Government Business in the Senate.

The major changes announced today are outlined below:


Bob Carr will take on the position of Minister for Foreign Affairs, following his swearing in as Senator for NSW.


Craig Emerson will take on an expanded role of Minister for Trade and Competitiveness.


Brendan O’Connor will become Minister for Small Business, elevating the portfolio of Small Business to a Cabinet Position, as well as Minister for Housing and Homelessness.


Nicola Roxon will take on the position of Minister for Emergency Management, in addition to her existing role as Attorney General.


Tony Burke will take on the position of Vice-President of the Executive Council, in addition to his existing role as Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities.


Kate Lundy will be promoted to Minister for Sport and Minister for Multicultural Affairs, as well as Minister Assisting for Industry and Innovation.


David Bradbury will be promoted to the Ministry as Assistant Treasurer, and in the newly-created position of Minister Assisting for Deregulation.


Jason Clare will take on the role Minister for Defence Materials in addition to his current roles as Minister for Home Affairs, and Minister for Justice.


Kim Carr will take up the role of Minister for Human Services.


Greg Combet will become responsible for manufacturing at the Cabinet level.


Jan McLucas will become Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister in addition to her existing duties as Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers.


Richard Marles will assume wider responsibilities with the additional title of Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs in addition to his current role as Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs.


Bernie Ripoll becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer.


Sharon Bird becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Higher Education and Skills.


Jacinta Collins will become Manager of Government Business in the Senate.


Robert McClelland will take up a position on the backbench.


The new Cabinet remains at 22 members.  The new Ministry will be sworn in by the Governor-General on Monday 5 March 2012. The Prime Minister’s press release is available here.


For more information, contact your Hawker Britton consultant.