New Gillard Ministry and Cabinet

This afternoon, the Prime Minister announced details of a new Ministry and Cabinet.  A full list is available here.  Several of the major changes are outlined below:

Innovative Industries and Skills

  • In addition to his current responsibilities as Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, the Hon. Greg Combet AM MP has been appointed Minister for Innovation and Industry.
  • Senator the Hon. Chris Evans will remain Minister for Tertiary Education and Skills, along with new responsibilities as Minister for Science and Research.  Greg Combet and Chris Evans will together head a new Department encompassing Skills, Higher Education, Innovation and Research.
  • Senator the Hon. Kim Carr will take up new responsibilities as Minister for Manufacturing and Minister for Defence Materiel.  In this role, he will be a member of the Outer Ministry.

Fairer Workplaces, Retirement Incomes and Tax

  • The Hon. Bill Shorten MP will retain responsibility for Financial Services and Superannuation, and will also become Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations.  He has also been appointed to Cabinet.
  • Senator the Hon. Mark Arbib has been appointed to the role of Assistant Treasurer.  He will also be Minister for Small Business and Manager of Government Business in the Senate.  Senator Arbib will remain the Minister for Sport.

Health Reform and an Ageing Australia

  • Former Minister for Human Services the Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP will be the Minister for Health, where she will be supported by the Hon. Mark Butler MP who will retain responsibility for Mental Health and Ageing with responsibility for Social Inclusion.  Both have been appointed to Cabinet.

Better Schools and Services

  • The Hon. Brendan O’Connor has been appointed Minister for Human Services, with additional responsibility as Minister Assisting for School Education, with particular responsibility for assisting on the Government’s schools reform agenda, working alongside the Hon. Peter Garrett AM MP.

Attorney-General, Emergency Management and Justice

  • The Hon. Nicola Roxon MP will become Australia’s first female Attorney-General, where she will continue to support the Government’s tobacco plain packaging legislation.  She will also have responsibility for Privacy.
  • The Hon. Robert McClelland MP has taken on new responsibilities as Minister for Emergency Management, Housing and Homelessness.
  • The Hon. Jason Clare MP will now be the Minister for Home Affairs and Justice.

Stronger Family, Disability and Community Services

  • The Hon. Jenny Macklin MP will retain responsibility for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs Housing.  She is now also the Minister for Disability Reform and in this role will continue to pursue the Government’s National Disability Insurance Scheme.
  • The Hon. Julie Collins MP has been appointed to the Outer Ministry as Minister for Community Services, Indigenous Employment and Economic Development, and the Status of Women.

Parliamentary Secretaries

  • The Hon. Dr Mike Kelly AM MP returns to the Defence portfolio, where he will be the Parliamentary Secretary for Defence.
  • The Hon. Sid Sidebottom MP has been appointed to the role of Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

The new Cabinet represents an expansion from 20 to 22 members.

The Prime Minister’s announcement followed the decision of Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry to resign from his position as Minister for Small Business, Minister Assisting the Minister on Deregulation and Public Sector Superannuation, and Minister Assisting the Minister for Tourism.

The Administrative Arrangements following the Ministerial reshuffle have now been released and are available here.

For more information, contact your Hawker Britton consultant.