New Commonwealth Departmental Secretaries

The new arrangements for Departmental Secretaries of the Commonwealth Public Service have been announced.

New appointments are listed in the table below.

Departmental Secretary Department
Mark Paterson Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
Peter Boxall Resources, Energy and Tourism
Patricia Scott Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
Lisa Paul Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
Martin Parkinson Climate Change

Most Secretaries will remain in their existing portfolios.

These existing positions are listed below.

Departmental Secretary Department
Conall O’Connell Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Robert Cornall Attorney General
Nick Warner Defence
Jeff Harmer Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
Ian Watt Finance and Administration
Michael L’Estrange Foreign Affairs and Trade
Jane Halton Health and Ageing
Helen Williams Human Services
Andrew Metcalfe Immigration and Citizenship
Peter Shergold Prime Minister and Cabinet
Michael Taylor Infrastructure, Transport, and Regional Development and Local Government
Ken Henry Treasury

All Departmental Secretary appointments will be for five years.

Note that Dr Peter Shergold, the Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, has indicated that he intends to leave at the conclusion of his five year term in February 2008.