National Employment Standards

The Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd, and the Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Julia Gillard, today released the new National Employment Standards (NES) that will come into effect on 1 January 2010.

The National Employment Standards are:

  1. Maximum weekly hours of work
  2. Request for flexible working arrangements
  3. Parental leave and related entitlements
  4. Annual leave
  5. Personal/Carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  6. Community service leave
  7. Long service leave
  8. Public holidays
  9. Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  10. Fair Work Information Statement

A copy of the media release can be found at:

A document setting out more detail of the National Employment Standards can also be found at: