Kim Beazley’s Shadow Ministry June 2005

Portfolio Shadow Minister Other Chamber
Leader Kim Beazley Senator Chris Evans (Arts)
Deputy Leader Education, Training, Science and Research Jenny Macklin Senator Penny Wong (Education, Training)
Senator Ursula Stephens (Science and Research)
Leader in the Senate Indigenous Affairs; Family and Community Services Senator Chris Evans Warren Snowdon (Indigenous Affairs) Tanya Plibersek (Family and Community Services)
Deputy Leader in the Senate Communications and Information Technology Senator Stephen Conroy Stephen Smith
Environment and Heritage; Water Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House Anthony Albanese Senator Kim Carr (Environment and Heritage) Senator Ursula Stephens (Water)
Homeland Security; Aviation and Transport Security Arch Bevis Senator Joseph Ludwig
Defence Industry, Procurement and Personnel Senator Mark Bishop Robert McClelland
Immigration Tony Burke Senator Joseph Ludwig
Housing; Urban Development; Local Government and Territories Senator Kim Carr Anthony Albanese
Regional Development Simon Crean Senator Kerry O’Brien
Consumer Affairs; Population Health and Health Regulation Laurie Ferguson Senator Jan McLucas (Population Health and Health Regulation)
Senator Kate Lundy (Consumer Affairs)
Primary Industries, Resources, Forestry and Tourism Martin Ferguson Senator Kerry O’Brien
Assistant Treasurer and Revenue; Small Business and Competition Joel Fitzgibbon Senator Stephen Conroy
Health Manager of Opposition Business in the House Julia Gillard Senator Jan McLucas
Veterans’ Affairs; Special Minister of State Alan Griffin Senator Penny Wong
Justice and Customs Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate Senator Joseph Ludwig Nicola Roxon
Sport and Recreation Senator Kate Lundy Alan Griffin
Defence Robert McClelland Senator Mark Bishop
Aged Care, Disabilities and Carers Senator Jan McLucas Julia Gillard
Transport Senator Kerry O’Brien Stephen Smith
Agriculture and Fisheries Gavan O’Connor Senator Kerry O’Brien
Child Care; Youth; Women Tanya Plibersek Senator Chris Evans (Child Care)
Senator Kate Lundy (Youth; Women)
Attorney-General Nicola Roxon Senator Joseph Ludwig
Foreign Affairs and Trade; International Security Kevin Rudd Senator Chris Evans (Foreign Affairs) Senator Stephen Conroy (Trade)
Overseas Aid and Pacific Island Affairs Bob Sercombe Senator Ursula Stephens
Superannuation and Intergenerational Finance; Banking and Financial Services Senator Nick Sherry Joel Fitzgibbon
Industry, Infrastructure and Industrial Relations Stephen Smith Senator Kim Carr (Industry and Infrastructure)
Senator Penny Wong (Industrial Relations)
Treasurer Wayne Swan Senator Nick Sherry
Finance Lindsay Tanner Senator Nick Sherry
Public Accountability; Human Services Kelvin Thomson Senator Chris Evans
Employment and Workforce Participation; Corporate Governance and Responsibility Senator Penny Wong Jenny Macklin (Employment and Workforce Participation)
Joel Fitzgibbon (Corporate Governance and Responsibility)
Parliamentary Secretaries
Parliamentary Secretary for Reconciliation and the Arts Peter Garrett
Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition John Murphy
Parliamentary Secretary for Defence and Veterans Affairs Graham Edwards
Parliamentary Secretary for Education Kirsten Livermore
Parliamentary Secretary for Environment and Heritage Jennie George
Parliamentary Secretary for Industry, Infrastructure and Industrial Relations Bernie Ripoll Bernie Ripoll
Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration Ann Corcoran
Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury Catherine King
Parliamentary Secretary for Science and Water Ursula Stephens
Parliamentary Secretary for Northern Australia and Indigenous Affairs Warren Snowdon
Chief Opposition Whip Roger Price Senate Whip Senator George Campbell
Whip in the House of Representatives Michael Danby Deputy Senate Whip Senator Geoff Buckland
Whip in the House of Representatives Jill Hall Deputy Senate Whip Senator Ruth Webber

Note that the Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs will be filled at the first meeting of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party after 1 July 2005.