How the Independents have voted in the house

In the first and second sessions of the 43rd Parliament, only one division on a Bill has been lost by the Government.

  • Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation (Public Health and Safety) Amendment Bill 2010 second reading.
o   Adam Bandt, Robert Oakeshott and Andrew Wilkie voted with the Government, while Tony Crook, Bob Katter and Tony Windsor voted against.
The Government has otherwise been successful gaining support from the independents on significant pieces of legislation which required a division, gaining a majority in 95% of divisions on substantive matters.
The speaker has used his casting vote twice.
Over the course of the 43rd Parliament so far, the Opposition has moved one successful motion which was on Youth Allowance. The Opposition have also moved 16 unsuccessful amendments to Government bills, 10 of which were related to the National Broadband Network.
The Independent Member for Denison, Andrew Wilkie, was the only member to be successful in gaining support for a private members bill (Evidence Amendment Journalists’ Privilege) Bill 2010).
Graphs showing the outcome of votes where a division was required from 29 September 2010 to 24 March 2011, along with voting records for each Independent, are available here.
A table showing all the divisions from 29 September to 24 March, with a brief description of the legislation or motion, number of pairs and how each independent voted is available here.
Note pairs are agreed to by party whips on each day of voting.
Hawker Britton’s previous analysis covering September to November 2010 is available here.
For more information on each division go to House of Representatives Votes and Proceedings.