Election of Speaker of the House of Representatives

This morning, the Hon. Harry Jenkins MP resigned from his position as Speaker of the House of Representatives. Mr Jenkins’ press release is available here.  A special Caucus meeting was held at 10am in order to nominate a new Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Former Deputy Speaker, the Hon. Peter Slipper MP and Liberal Member for Fisher, was sworn in as Speaker of the House of Representatives this afternoon.  The Labor Member for Chisholm, Anna Burke was sworn in as Deputy Speaker.

The Coalition did not support the nomination put by the Government for the position of Speaker and the Leader of the Opposition has stated that any Coalition member who accepts the nomination for Speaker would be expected to resign from their respective Party.

For more information, contact your Hawker Britton consultant.