Change in ACT Chief Minister

Katy Gallagher is expected to succeed Jon Stanhope as Chief Minister of the ACT following Mr Stanhope’s announcement of his intention to resign from the position and the Legislative Assembly.

Ms Gallagher is currently Deputy Chief Minister and Treasurer as well as Minister for Health and Minister for Industrial Relations.

Katy Gallagher was first elected to the Legislative Assembly as a Labor Member for Molonglo in November 2001, and joined the Ministry in December 2002.

Prior to her election to the Assembly, Ms Gallagher worked as an organiser for the Community and Public Sector Union.

The resulting casual vacancy for Mr Stanhope’s seat in the Assembly will be filled by count-back under the ACT’s Hare Clark electoral system.