

# **Tasmanian Election Brief**

#### 18 July 2025

On Wednesday, 11 June 2025, following Premier Jeremy Rockliff's request of an early election, Her Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, Barbara Baker AC, issued writs for an election and dissolved parliament. This followed a no-confidence motion that was carried against the Premier, moved by opposition leader, Dean Winter.

The Tasmanian state election will be held on Saturday, 19 July 2025. This election will be the state of Tasmania's fourth in seven years and the second in sixteen months.

### Overview

The Tasmanian House of Assembly uses the proportional Hare-Clark system electing 35 members from 5 electoral divisions: Bass, Braddon, Clark, Franklin and Lyons with each seat electing 7 members. Unlike the Australian federal election, votes are cast for candidates not parties, with seven preferences required for a formal vote. Candidates are placed in a randomised order on the ballot paper under the Robson rotation method.

A result commonly associated with the Hare-Clark system is a hung parliament, with 18 seats needed to secure a majority. Following the 2024 election the Liberal Party won 14 of the 35 seats and formed a minority government with the support of the Jacquie Lambie Network and two Independent MPs. Depending on the outcome, the Governor will try to determine the party most likely to be able to form government through having support for the confidence of the House and guarantee of supply. Independents and minor parties play a key role in deciding who to give confidence and supply. Given the expected tightness of the election, it may take some time to determine seats and therefore which party can form government and with what support.

Only the House of Assembly will be going to the election with the Legislative Council holding sperate elections, the next of which will be in 2026.

### The Seats

The Tasmanian House of Assembly using the Hare-Clark system elects 35 members from five seven member electorates. Tasmania uses the same electoral names and boundaries for both state and federal elections. With the 5 divisions electing 1 federal member and 7 state members.



### **Current Composition of the Tasmanian House of Assembly**

Electorate	Liberal	Labor	Greens	Independents
Bass	Michael Ferguson Rob Fairs Simon Wood	Janie Finlay Michelle O'Byrne	Cecily Rosol	Rebekah Pentland**
Braddon	Jeremy Rockliff Felix Ellis Rodger Jaensch	Anita Dow Shane Broad		Craig Garland Miriam Beswick*
Clark	Simon Behrakis Madeleine Ogilvie	Ella Haddad Josh Willie	Vica Bayley Helen Burnet	Kristie Johnston
Franklin	Jacquie Petrusma Eric Abetz Nic Street	Dean Winter Meg Brown	Rosalie Woodruff	David O'Byrne
Lyons	Guy Barnett Jane Howlett Mark Shelton	Jen Butler Casey Farrell	Tabatha Badger	Andrew Jenner*
Total	14	10	5	6

\*First elected under the Jacquie Lambie Network which is not running in this election these candidates will run under the Tasmanian National Party

\*\* First elected under the Jacquie Lambie Network which is not running in this election this candidate is running as Independent

### Bass

The electoral division of Bass primarily encompassing Launceston and the towns of Scottsdale, Lilydale, St Helens, George Town.

#### Braddon

Braddon covers the north-west and west coasts of Tasmania, extending from Port Sorell and Devonport in the east, then down the west coast of the state.

#### Franklin

Franklin covers southern Tasmania including much of suburban Hobart, areas to Hobart's east, as well as Bruny Island.

#### Clark

The electoral division of Clark located in Hobart on the western shore of the River Derwent and includes the suburbs below Mount Wellington.

#### Lyons

Lyons covers a large proportion of regional Tasmania. It includes northern agricultural districts, the state's east coast and outer Hobart.





## The Leaders

### The Hon. Jeremy Rockliff MP

Premier Leader of the Tasmanian Liberal Party Electorate: Braddon

Political Background: Rockliff has been the Premier since April 2022, following Peter Gutwein's resignation. First elected to the House of Assembly in 2002, he was the Deputy Premier from 2014 until 2022. He has served as the Minister for Education and Training, Primary Industries and Water, Mental Health and Wellbeing, and Advanced Manufacturing and Defence Industries, and besides being Premier, he also holds the portfolios of Trade and Major Investment, and Tourism.



## The Hon. Dean Winter MP

Leader of the Opposition Leader of the Tasmanian Labor Party Electorate: Franklin

Political Background: Winter was first elected to the lower house in 2021 and became leader of the Tasmanian Labor Party in April 2024 following the resignation of Rebecca White. Besides being Leader, Winter is also the Shadow Minister for Jobs, Workplace Relations and Safety, Trade and Major Investment, and Tourism and Hospitality.



## Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

#### Leader of the Tasmanian Greens Electorate: Franklin

Political Background: Woodruff was elected in 2015 to the seat of Franklin and becoming the leader of the Tasmanian Greens in 2023 following the resignation of Cassy O'Connor. She is currently the Green's spokesperson for Aboriginal Affairs, LGBTQIA+, Forests and Marine Environment.



### **Further Information**

For more information, please contact one of our directors, John Jarrett on +61 434 384 745 or at john.jarrett@hawkerbritton.com or Andy Gargett on +61 427552980 or at andrew.gargett@hawkerbritton.com .

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers are available here.