

2025 Western Australia Ministry

At the election on 8 of March 2025, the Cook Labor Government was returned to office. With the count continuing, the Labor party has secured at least 42 seats with 30 needed to form a majority.

Roger Cook remains the Premier of WA. On 18 March 2025, he announced changes to his Ministry.

Now former Ministers David Templeman, Sue Ellery, and Margaret Quirk announced their retirement ahead of the election.

Three new Members have joined the Cabinet, Girrawheen MLA Meredith Hammat, Kingsley MLA Jessica Stojkovski and Upper House MP Matthew Swinbourn.

The Premier has introduced dedicated Ministers for each regional WA community to ensure they have access to the jobs, services and infrastructure they need.

The swearing-in ceremony for the new Ministers occurred on Wednesday 19th March at Government House.

Ministry Changes

The Ministry changes reflect a focus on economic diversification, regional development, and infrastructure investment.

Major changes include:

Rita Saffioti - has added Minister for Sport and Recreation to her responsibilities.

Stephen Dawson - has taken on **Minister for Ports, Regional Development** and will be the **Minister for Kimberley**,

John Carey - has added Minister for Health Infrastructure to his responsibilities.

Amber-Jade Sanderson - now **Minister for Energy and Decarbonisation**, and has also taking on **Manufacturing, Skills and TAFE, and Pilbara**.

Simone McGurk - now Minister for Aged Care and Seniors, while also adding Creative Industries, Heritage, and Women.

Sabine Winton - takes on the newly created **Preventative Health** portfolio and Wheatbelt.





David Michael - has been assigned **Leader of the House**, while also taking on **Finance**, **Electoral Affairs, and Goldfields-Esperance**.

Jessica Stojkovski - now Minister for Child Protection and Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence, while assisting the Minister for Transport and holding the Peel portfolio.

Matthew Swinbourn – has been assigned Minister for the Environment, Community Services, and Homelessness.

Meredith Hammat - has been assigned Minister for Health and Mental Health.

Hannah Beazley - adds Minister for Disability Services, and Volunteering, and holds the Gascoyne portfolio.

Reece Whitby - now **Minister for Police, Road Safety, Tourism,** and the **Great Southern**.

Don Punch - has been assigned Minister for Aboriginal Affairs.

Tony Buti - adds Attorney General, Commerce, and Tertiary and International Education,

Paul Papalia - adds Emergency Services to his responsibilities.

Additionally, Parliamentary Secretaries have been appointed to support the Ministry, ensuring the delivery of government priorities across the state.

Further Information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton Managing Director Simon Banks at simon.banks@hawkerbritton.com

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers are available here.

The Complete Western Australia Ministry is below.



HawkerBritton

Western Australia Ministers

Title	Minister	Electorate
Premier	Hon Roger Cook MLA	Kwinana
Minister for State Development Minister for Trade and Investment		
Minister for Economic Diversification		
Deputy Premier	Hon Rita Saffioti MLA	West Swan
Treasurer		mooreman
Minister for Transport		
Minister for Sport and Recreation		
Minister for Regional Development	Hon Stephen Dawson MLC	Legislative
Minister for Ports		Council
Minister for Science and Innovation Minister for Medical Research		
Minister for Kimberley		
Minister for Agriculture and Food	Hon Jackie Jarvis MLC	Legislative
Minister for Fisheries		Council
Minister for Forestry		
Minister for Small Business		
Minister for Mid West		
Minister for Emergency Services	Hon Paul Papalia MLA	Secret Harbour
Minister for Corrective Services Minister for Defence Industries		
Minister for Veterans		
Minister for Racing and Gaming		
Attorney General	Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA	Armadale
Minister for Commerce	······	
Minister for Tertiary and International Education		
Minister for Multicultural Interests		
Minister for Creative Industries	Hon Simone McGurk MLA	Freemantle
Minister for Heritage		
Minister for Industrial Relations Minister for Aged Care and Seniors		
Minister for Women		
Minister for Energy and Decarbonisation	Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA	Morley
Minister for Manufacturing Minister for Skills and TAFE		
Minister for Pilbara		
Minister for Planning and Lands	Hon John Carey MLA	Perth
Minister for Housing and Works		
Minister for Health Infrastructure		
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs	Hon Don Punch MLA	Bunbury
Minister for Water		
Minister for Climate Resilience		
Minister for South West		
Minister for Police	Hon Reece Whitby MLA	Baldivis
Minister for Road Safety Minister for Tourism		
Minister for Great Southern		
Minister for Education	Hon Sabine Winton MLA	Wanneroo
Minister for Early Childhood		
Minister for Preventative Health		
Minister for Wheatbelt		
Minister for Mines and Petroleum	Hon David Michael MLA	Balcatta
Minister for Finance		
Minister for Electoral Affairs		
Minister for Goldfields-Esperance Leader of the House		
Minister for Local Government	Hon Hannah Beazley MLA	Victoria Park
Minister for Disability Services		
Minister for Volunteering		
Minister for Youth		
Minister for Gascoyne		
Minister for Child Protection	Hon Jessica Stojkovski MLA	Kingsley
Minister for Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence		
Assisting the Minister for Transport		
Minister for Peel		
Minister for the Environment	Hon Matthew Swinbourn MLC	Legislative
Minister for Community Services		Council
Minister for Honelessness	Hon Morodith Hommet MLA	Cirrowheer
Minister for Health	Hon Meredith Hammat MLA	Girrawheen



HawkerBritton

Parliamentary Secretaries

Title	Minister	Electorate
Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier	Daniel Pastorelli MLA	Landsdale
Cabinet Secretary		
Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier	Divina D'Anna MLA	Kimberley
Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier	David Scaife MLA	Cockburn
Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier	Hon Samantha Rowe MLC	Legislative Council
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Dr Tony Buti	Yaz Mubarakai MLA	Oakford
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Meredith Hammat	Hon Pierre Yang MLC	Legislative Council
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson	Jodie Hanns MLA	Collie-Preston
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Simone McGurk	Cassie Rowe MLA	Belmont
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Sabine Winton	Emily Hamilton MLA	Joondalup
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Stephen Dawson	Lisa O'Malley MLA	Bicton
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Paul Papalia	Caitlin Collins MLA	Hillarys
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Dr Tony Buti	Hon Dan Caddy MLC	Legislative Council
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister John Carey	Dr Katrina Stratton MLC	Legislative Council
Parliamentary Secretary to Minister Matthew Swinbourn	Kim Giddens MLA	Bateman