

## **Albanese Federal Ministry**

On Sunday 28 July 2024, Prime Minister the Hon Anthony Albanese MP announced the first major reshuffle of his Cabinet since his election in May 2022.

This major announcement follows a press conference held by the Prime Minister on Thursday 25 July 2024, announcing the retirement of the Hon Linda Burney MP, Minister for Indigenous Australians and Member for Barton and the Hon Brendan O'Connor MP, Minister for Skills and Training and Member for Gorton.

In addition to the two senior Cabinet Ministers of Albanese's front bench, Senator the Hon Carol Brown, Senator for Tasmania, will also step down from her position as Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport.

The major changes are as follows:

### **Cabinet changes**

- Tony Burke MP Minister for Home Affairs; Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs; Minister for Cyber Security; Minister for the Arts; Leader of the House
- Julie Collins MP Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry; Minister for Small Business
- Senator Murray Watt Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
- Clare O'Neil MP Minister for Housing; Minister for Homelessness
- Senator Malarndirri McCarthy Minister for Indigenous Australians
- Pat Conroy MP Minister for Defence Industry and Capability Delivery; Minister for International Development and the Pacific

### Ministry changes

- Andrew Giles MP Minister for Skills and Training
- Senator Jenny McAllister Minister for Cities; Minister for Emergency Management

### **Assistant Ministry changes**

- Matt Thistlethwaite MP Assistant Minister for Immigration
- Patrick Gorman MP Assistant to the Prime Minister; Assistant Minister for the Public Service;
   Assistant Minister to the Attorney-General
- Ged Kearney MP Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care; Assistant Minister for Indigenous Health
- Senator Tim Ayres Assistant Minister for a Future Made In Australia; Assistant Minister for Trade



- Senator Anthony Chisholm Assistant Minister for Education; Assistant Minister for Regional Development; Assistant Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
- Kate Thwaites MP Assistant Minister for Social Security; Assistant Minister for Ageing;
   Assistant Minister for Women
- Josh Wilson MP Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy
- Julian Hill MP Assistant Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs

### **Special Envoy changes**

- Peter Khalil MP Special Envoy for Social Cohesion
- Luke Gosling MP Special Envoy for Defence, Veterans' Affairs and Northern Australia
- Andrew Charlton MP Special Envoy for Cyber Security and Digital Resilience

#### **Further Information**

The Complete Ministry list is listed below.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton Director Emma Webster on ewebster@hawkerbritton.com.



# **Federal Cabinet**

## **Cabinet**

Minister	Electorate
The Hon Anthony Albanese MP	Member for Grayndler
The Hon Richard Marles MP	Member for Corio
Senator the Hon Penny Wong	Senator for South Australia
The Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP	Member for Rankin
Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher	Senator for the ACT
Senator the Hon Don Farrell	Senator for South Australia
The Hon Tony Burke MP	Member for Watson
The Hon Mark Butler MP	Member for Hindmarsh
The Hon Chris Bowen MP	Member for McMahon
The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP	Member for Sydney
The Hon Catherine King MP	Member for Ballarat
The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP	Member for Kingston
The Hon Bill Shorten MP	Member for Maribyrnong
The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP	Member for Isaacs
The Hon Jason Clare MP	Member for Blaxland
The Hon Julie Collins MP	Member for Franklin
The Hon Michelle Rowland MP	Member for Greenway
The Hon Madeleine King MP	Member for Brand
Hon Ed Husic MP	Member for Chifley
Senator the Hon Murray Watt	Senator for Queensland
The Hon Clare O'Neil MP	Member for Hotham
Senator the Hon Malarndirri McCarthy	Senator for NT
The Hon Pat Conroy MP	Member for Shortland
	The Hon Anthony Albanese MP  The Hon Richard Marles MP  Senator the Hon Penny Wong  The Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP  Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher  Senator the Hon Don Farrell  The Hon Tony Burke MP  The Hon Chris Bowen MP  The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP  The Hon Catherine King MP  The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP  The Hon Bill Shorten MP  The Hon Jason Clare MP  The Hon Julie Collins MP  The Hon Michelle Rowland MP  The Hon Madeleine King MP  Senator the Hon Murray Watt  The Hon Clare O'Neil MP



# **Outer Ministry**

Title	Minister	Electorate
Minister for Veterans' Affairs	The Hon Matt Keogh MP	Member for Burt
Minister for Defence Personnel		
Assistant Treasurer	The Hon Stephen Jones MP	Member for Whitlam
Minister for Financial Services		
Minister for Skills and Training	The Hon Andrew Giles MP	Member for Scullin
Minister for Early Childhood Education	Hon Dr Anne Aly MP	Member for Cowan
Minister for Youth		
Minister for Aged Care	Hon Anika Wells MP	Member for Lilley
Minister for Sport		
Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and	The Hon Kristy McBain MP	Member for Eden-Monaro
Territories		
Minister for Cities	Senator the Hon Jenny McAllister	Senator for NSW
Minister for Emergency Management		

## **Assistant Ministers**

Title	Minister	Electorate
Assistant Minister for Social Services	The Hon Justine Elliot MP	Member for Richmond
Assistant Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence		
Assistant Minister for Immigration	Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP	Member for Kingsford Smith
Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury	The Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP	Member for Fenner
Assistant Minister for Employment		
Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister	The Hon Patrick Gorman MP	Member for Perth
Assistant Minister for the Public Service		
Assistant Minister to the Attorney-General		
Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care	The Hon Ged Kearney MP	Member for Cooper
Assistant Minister for Indigenous Health		
Assistant Minister for Mental Health	The Hon Emma McBride MP	Member for Dobell
Assistant Minister for Rural and Regional Health		
Assistant Minister for Future Made in Australia	Senator the Hon Tim Ayres	Senator for NSW
Assistant Minister for Trade		
Assistant Minister for Education	Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm	Senator for QLD
Assistant Minister for Regional Development		
Assistant Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry		
Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs	The Hon Tim Watts MP	Member for Gellibrand
Assistant Minister for Social Security	The Hon Kate Thwaites MP	Member for Jagajaga
Assistant Minister for Ageing		
Assistant Minister for Women		
Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy	The Hon Josh Wilson MP	Member for Fremantle
Assistant Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs	The Hon Julian Hill MP	Member for Bruce



Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405
TEL +61 2 6111 2191 Suite 17C, Level 2, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit BARTON ACT 2600