

The Hon. Eva Lawler MP sworn in as NT Chief Minister

21 December 2023

On Thursday 21 December, the Hon. Eva Lawler MP was sworn in as the 13th Chief Minister of the Northern Territory.

Lawler was elected Leader of the Northern Territory Parliamentary Labor Party and Chief Minister following the resignation of the Hon. Natasha Fyles MP on Tuesday.

Lawler has served as the Member for Drysdale in the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly since 2016, an electorate which covers much of the Palmerston area. She is the first Labor MP to win a second term in the seat which was formerly a Country Liberal Party stronghold.

In the Fyles Labor Government she served as Treasurer, Minister for Education, and Minister for Territory Development. In the Gunner Government from 2016 to 2022, Lawler held several ministerial portfolios including Essential Services, Renewables and Energy, and Environment, Climate Change & Water Security.

The Hon. Chansey Paech MP has been elected Deputy Chief Minister after his predecessor in the Fyles Government the Hon. Nicole Manison MP moved to the backbench. Paech represents the electorate of Gwoja and serves as Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty, Local Government, Arts, and Culture and Heritage.

Member for Fong Lim Mark Monaghan has been appointed to the ministry filling the vacancy left by Manison.

There has also been a portfolio reshuffle with the first Lawler Cabinet tasked with continuing to grow the Northern Territory economy, curbing the cost of living and keeping Territorians safe. The new Cabinet is outlined in the table below.

The next Northern Territory general election is scheduled to be held on 24 August 2024.

Hawker Britton's occasional papers on the Northern Territory Government can be found <u>here</u>.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton Director Juliana Plummer on + 61 427 519 224.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB



Lawler Government Ministry

Minister	Portfolio
Hon Eva Lawler MLA	Chief Minister; Treasurer; Minister for Territory Development; Minister for Defence Industries; Minister for Industry and Trade; Minister for Major Projects
Hon Chansey Paech MLA	Deputy Chief Minister; Leader of Government Business; Attorney General and Minister for Justice; Minister for Local Government; Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty; Minister for the Arts, Culture and Heritage
Hon Selena Uibo MLA	Minister for Health; Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention; Minister for Remote Housing and Homelands; Minister for Parks and Rangers; Minister for Local Decision Making; Minister for Public Employment; Minister for Corporate and Digital Development
Hon Kate Worden MLA	Minister for the Environment, Climate Change and Water Security; Minister for Prevention of Domestic, Family and Sexual Violence; Minister for Sport; Minister for Renewables and Energy; Minister for Essential Services
Hon Ngaree Ah Kit MLA	Minister for Territory Families; Minister for Urban Housing; Minister for Youth , Seniors, and Equality; Minister for Multicultural Affairs; Minister for Disabilities
Hon Brent Potter MLA	Minister for Police; Minister for Alcohol Policy; Minister for Fire and Emergency Services; Minister for Veterans' Affairs; Minister for Major Events
Hon Joel Bowden MLA	Minister of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics; Minister for Business and Jobs; Minister for Skills, Training and International Education; Minister for Tourism and Hospitality; Minister for Recreational Fishing
Hon Mark Monaghan MLA	Minister for Education; Minister for Mining; Minister for Agribusiness and Fisheries

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 Suite 17C, Level 2, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit BARTON ACT 2600

HB

SYDNEY | MELBOURNE | BRISBANE | PERTH | ADELAIDE | CANBERRA | WELLINGTON