

First Ministry of the Allan Labor Government

On Tuesday 26 September, Daniel Andrews announced his resignation as the Premier of Victoria and Member for Mulgrave. After almost nine years at the helm of the Victorian Government and twenty-one years in the Victorian Parliament Daniel Andrews decided now was the right time to leave.

In 2010, Andrews became Victorian Labor Leader and just four years later historically led the Labor Party to Government after only one term in Opposition. Andrews' tenure as Premier was marked by landmark investments in infrastructure, historic social reforms such as the Royal Commission into Family Violence, and steering Victoria through the COVID-19 Pandemic.

In November last year, Andrews led the Victorian Labor Government to a historic third term, increasing the Government's majority by one and in doing so became the longest serving Victorian Labor Premier, overtaking the late John Cain Jr.

On Wednesday 27 September, following a meeting of the Parliamentary Labor Caucus, the Hon. Jacinta Allan MP was elected the 49th Premier of Victoria. Allan becomes the second female Premier of Victoria after the late Victorian Labor Premier Joan Kirner.

Allan was first elected to the Victorian Parliament as the Member for Bendigo East at the 1999 state election; becoming the youngest woman at the time elected to Parliament at just twenty-five years of age.

After just one term in Parliament, she was elevated to the Ministry in 2002 as Minister for Education Services and Minister for Employment and Youth Affairs. Allan was the youngest Minister in Victorian history.

Allan served as Deputy Premier from June 2022, and has held the portfolios of Public Transport, Employment, Transport and Infrastructure, and the Suburban Rail Loop.

The Parliamentary Labor Caucus elected Member for Niddrie Ben Carroll as the Deputy Premier.

Carroll was elected to the Legislative Assembly in a 2012 by-election, and has held the portfolios of Public Transport, Manufacturing Sovereignty, Employment, and Industry and Innovation.

In addition to the Deputy Premiership, Carroll will also serve as Minister for Education and Minister for Medical Research in the first Ministry of the Allan Labor Government.

First Allan Ministry

On Monday 2 October 2023, the first Ministry of the Allan Labor Government was sworn in at Government House.

The announcement of the new Cabinet includes several changes as the Allan Government identifies housing as the core part of its agenda.

The Governments commitment to housing is highlighted by some of the key changes in the Ministry, with the expansion of housing responsibilities in a number of portfolios.



Sonya Kilkenny will continue as Minister for Planning whilst also becoming Minister for the Suburbs as the planning reforms from Victoria's Housing Statement remain one of the key aspects of her portfolio.

Harriet Shing has been appointed the new Minister for Housing, leading the Victorian Government's Big Housing Build and Australia's biggest urban renewal project across Melbourne's high-rise public housing estates. She also continues in the Water and Equality portfolios.

Colin Brooks has been appointed Minister for Development Victoria and Minister for Precincts; two portfolios central to the implementation of the Housing Statement. He will also become Minister for Creative Industries.

Tim Pallas will continue as Treasurer and Minister for Industrial Relations in the new Ministry.

Natalie Hutchins has been appointed Minister for Jobs and Industry and will lead the Department of Jobs, Skills and Industry. She also returns to Indigenous Affairs as Minister for Treaty and First Peoples and continues as Minister for Women.

Danny Pearson has added to the portfolios of Transport Infrastructure and the Suburban Rail Loop whilst retaining his roles as Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Worksafe and the TAC.

Vicki Ward was elevated to the Ministry following the vacancy caused by the former Premiers resignation. Ward has been appointed Minster for the Prevention of Family Violence and Minister for Employment.

First Allan Ministry | October 2023

Jacinta Allan	Premier
Ben Carroll	Deputy Premier
	Minister for Education
	Minister for Medical Research
Jaclyn Symes	Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
	Attorney-General
	Minister for Emergency Services
Tim Pallas	Treasurer
	Minister for Industrial Relations
	Minster for Economic Growth
Lizzie Blandthorn	Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative
	Council
	Minister for Children
	Minister for Disability
Colin Brooks	Minister for Development Victoria
	Minister for Precincts
	Minister for Creative Industries
Anthony Carbines	Minister for Police
	Minister for Crime Prevention
	Minister for Racing
Lily D'Ambrosio	Minister for Climate Action
	Minister for Energy and Resources
	Minister for the State Electricity Commission
Steve Dimopoulos	Minister for Environment



	Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events
	Minister for Outdoor Recreation
Enver Erdogan	Minister for Corrections
Enver Eraogan	Minister for Youth Justice
	Minister for Victim Support
Melissa Horne	Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
	Minister for Local Government
	Minister for Ports and Freight
	Minister for Roads and Road Safety
Natalie Hutchins	Minister for Jobs and Industry
	Minister for Treaty and First Peoples
	Minister for Women
Sonya Kilkenny	Minister for Planning
	Minister for the Suburbs
Danny Pearson	Minister for Transport Infrastructure
·	Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop
	Assistant Treasurer
	Minister for WorkSafe and the TAC
Harriet Shing	Minister for Housing
	Minister for Water
	Minister for Equality
Ros Spence	Minister for Agriculture
	Minister for Community Sport
	Minister for Carers and Volunteers
Ingrid Stitt	Minister for Mental Health
	Minister for Ageing
	Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Natalie Suleyman	Minister for Veterans
·	Minister for Small Business
	Minister for Youth
Mary-Anne Thomas	Leader of the House
	Minister for Health
	Minister for Health Infrastructure
	Minister for Ambulance Services
Gayle Tierney	Minister for Skills and TAFE
	Minister for Regional Development
Vicki Ward	Minister for Prevention of Family Violence
	Minister for Employment
Gabrielle Williams	Minister for Government Services
	Minister for Consumer Affairs
	Minister for Public and Active Transport
Steve McGhie	Cabinet Secretary

Parliamentary Secretaries

Nick Staikos	Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
	Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
Josh Bull	Parliamentary Secretary for Level Crossing Removals
	Parliamentary Secretary for Transport
Darren Cheeseman	Parliamentary Secretary for Education



Christine Couzens	Parliamentary Secretary for First Peoples
Paul Edbrooke	Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Bronwyn Halfpenny	Parliamentary Secretary for Jobs
Katie Hall	Parliamentary Secretary for Housing
	Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries
Nathan Lambert	Parliamentary Secretary for Children
Tim Richardson	Parliamentary Secretary for Health Infrastructure
	Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health and
	Suicide Prevention
Michaela Settle	Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development
	Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture
Nina Taylor	Parliamentary Secretary for Justice
Kat Theophanous	Parliamentary Secretary for Women's Health
Paul Hamer	Parliamentary Secretary for Economic Development
Sheena Watt	Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Action
Iwan Walters	Parliamentary Secretary for Disability

Further information

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton Victorian consultants JP Blandthorn on +61 3 9034 3021 and Emma Webster on +61 3 9034 3020.

Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers on the activities of the Victorian Government are available <u>here</u>.