

WA Cabinet Reshuffle – June 2023

On 29th May 2023, Western Australia's Premier, Mark McGowan resigned from his position.

Following a meeting of the WA Labor Caucus on June 6th, 2023 Roger Cook was endorsed as the 31st Premier of Western Australia. Today, on the 7th June, Premier Roger Cook announced his new Ministry.

The Premier will also serve as/continue to serve as Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade, Public Sector Management and Federal-State Relations. In his speech, the Premier emphasised he is leading a united and responsible team to take the State forward on issues that are important to Western Australians.

Rita Saffioti has been appointed as the Deputy Premier and Treasurer for Western Australia. She will continue to serve as Minister for Transport, and she will add the Treasurer and Tourism portfiolios.

Other changes to the cabinet include:

- <u>David Michael</u> has been elevated to the front bench and appointed as Minister for Ports;
 Local Government; Road Safety and assisting the Minister for Transport.
- Minister Stephen Dawson will take on the Science portfolio and will become the Minister assisting the Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade.
- Minister Paul Papalia will add Corrective Services to his portfolios of Police; Defence Industry and Veterans Issues.
- Minister Bill Johnston will add the portfolio of Hydrogen Industry, adding to his existing responsibilities in Mines and Petroleum as well as Energy and Industrial Relations.
- Minister John Carey will add the Planning portfolio, adding to the Housing, Lands and Homelessness portfolios.
- Minister Don Punch adds the Volunteering portfolio to Regional Development, Disability Services, Fisheries and Seniors and Ageing.

Two Parliamentary Secretaries have been appointed:

- Kingsley MLA Jessica Stojkovski will take on the role as new Cabinet Secretary and Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier; Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade, Public Sector Management and Federal-State Relations.
- The new Parliamentary Secretary will be Kimberley MLA Divina D'Anna, who will be working closely with the new Deputy Premier.

The incoming Premier, Deputy Premier, Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries will be officially sworn in at a ceremony at Government House on Thursday 8th June 2023.



Further information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's WA director Emma Ramage at eramage@hawkerbritton.con or on +61 430 811 929. A PDF printable version of the WA Cabinet is available here.

WA Cabinet and Parliamentary Secretaries

Minister	Portfolio	Parliamentary Secretary
Hon Roger Cook MLA	Premier; State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade; Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations	Mrs Jessica Stojkovski MLA
Hon Rita Saffioti MLA	Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Transport; Tourism	Ms Meredith Hammat MLA & Ms Divina D'Anna
Hon Sue Ellery MLC	Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests	Dr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan MLA
Hon Stephen Dawson MLC	Emergency Services; Innovation and the Digital Economy; Science; Medical Research; Minister assisting the Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade	Ms Jodie Hanns MLA
Hon David Templeman MLA	Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage	Hon Samantha Rowe MLC
Hon John Quigley MLA	Attorney General; Electoral Affairs	Hon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Paul Papalia MLA	Police; Corrective Services; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues	Mr Terry Healy MLA
Hon Bill Johnston MLA	Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Hydrogen Industry; Industrial Relations	Hon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA	Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests	Ms Meredith Hammat MLA & Mr Yaz Mubarakai MLA
Hon Simone McGurk MLA	Training; Water; Youth	Hon Pierre Yang MLC
Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA	Health; Mental Health	Mr Simon Millman MLA
Hon John Carey MLA	Planning; Lands; Housing; Homelessness	Ms Hannah Beazley MLA
Hon Don Punch MLA	Regional Development; Disability Services; Fisheries; Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering	Hon Kyle McGinn MLC
Hon Reece Whitby MLA	Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming	Hon Darren West MLC
Hon Sabine Winton MLA	Early Childhood Education; Child Protection; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services	



Hon David Michael MLA	Ports; Local Government; Road Safety; Minister assisting the Minister for Transport	
Hon Jackie Jarvis MLC	Agriculture and Food; Forestry; Small Business	