

# Forthcoming Australian and New Zealand Election Dates 5 June 2023

This Hawker Britton Occasional Paper outlines the forthcoming election dates of the Australian Federal, State and Territory jurisdictions, and for the national parliament New Zealand.

# Federal, State and Territory elections

Jurisdiction	Last election	Fixed date	Latest possible date
Federal	21 May 2022		24 May 2025 (simultaneous half-Senate and House of Reps)
Victoria	26 November 2022	28 November 2026	
New South Wales	25 March 2023	27 March 2027 (Easter Saturday, likely to be earlier)	
Queensland	31 October 2020	26 October 2024	
South Australia	19 March 2022	21 March 2026	
Western Australia	13 March 2021	8 March 2025	
Tasmania	1 May 2021		28 June 2025
ACT	17 October 2020	19 October 2024	
Northern Territory	22 August 2020	24 August 2024	
New Zealand	17 October 2020	14 October 2023 (election called)	13 January 2024

# Federal

Federally, Members of the House of Representatives are elected to three-year terms. Senators representing the states are elected to six-year terms, with half of them being elected every three years. Senators commence their term on 1 July following a general election.

Senators representing the Territories are elected to three-year terms.

There is no constitutional requirement that elections for the House of Representatives and state Senators be held simultaneously. These elections are however, generally held concurrently primarily to avoid the duplication of costs.

For a House of Representatives and half-Senate election to be held concurrently the election must be held at any time within one year prior to the Senate places turning over, according to s13 of the Constitution. If a House of Representatives election is called outside of this time period, the responsibility for the half Senate only election falls to the respective states, with governors issuing writs for the (half) Senate election. Section 57 of the Constitution also provides for a double dissolution election of both the House and the Senate where a disagreement exists between them. As of 3 October 2022, no trigger for a double dissolution exists.

The earliest date for a concurrent House of Representatives and half-Senate election would be Saturday 3 August 2024. As the latest possible date for a half-Senate election is Saturday 24 May 2025, the latest possible date for a simultaneous (half-Senate and House of Representatives) election is also 24 May 2025. The Labor Party currently holds Government after winning the 2022 federal election.



# Victoria

The Victorian Legislative Assembly has a fixed four-year term. The election is held on the last Saturday in November every four years. The next election will be held on Saturday 28 November 2026. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

## **New South Wales**

The New South Wales Legislative Assembly has a fixed four-year term. Elections are held on the fourth Saturday in March every four years. The next election is due to be held on Saturday 27 March 2027. This, however, will be Easter Saturday.

Section 24B, Paragraph 4 of the Constitution Act 1902 states that "The Legislative Assembly may be dissolved within 2 months before the Assembly is due to expire if the general election would otherwise be required to be held during the same period as a Commonwealth election, during a holiday period or at any other inconvenient time."

The earliest date for the next NSW election, other than by early dissolution, is Saturday 30 January 2027. The Labor Party currently holds a minority Government.

## Queensland

The Queensland Legislative Assembly has a fixed four-year term. The election is held on the last Saturday in October every four years. The next election will be held on Saturday 26 October 2024. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

#### South Australia

The South Australian House of Assembly has a fixed four-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in March every four years. The next election will be held on Saturday 21 March 2026. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

#### Western Australia

Western Australia's Legislative Assembly has a fixed four-year term. The election is held on the second Saturday in March every four years. The next election will be held on Saturday 8 March 2025. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

#### Tasmania

The Tasmanian House of Assembly term expires four years from the return of the writs for its election. The Governor must issue writs of election between five and ten days thereafter. Nominations must close on a date seven to 21 days after the issuance of the writ, and polling day must be a Saturday between 15 and 30 days after nominations close. As such, the next election is to be held no later than the end of June 2025. The Coalition currently holds Government.

#### **Australian Capital Territory**

The Australian Capital Territory's Legislative Assembly has a fixed four-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in October every four years. The next election will be held on Saturday 19 October 2024. The Labor-Greens Coalition currently holds Government.

2



# **Northern Territory**

The Northern Territory's unicameral Parliament has a four-year term. The election is held on the fourth Saturday of August every four years. The next election is due on Saturday 24 August 2024. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

## **New Zealand**

New Zealand general elections generally occur every three years. New Zealand law requires elections at least once every three years and two months, though elections are often held after three years, traditionally in November. The next election can be held no later than Saturday 13 January 2024, however, the election has been called and will be held on 14 October 2023. The Labor Party currently holds Government.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's Managing Director Simon Banks on +61 419 648 587.