

NEW SOUTH WALES GOVERNMENT MINISTRY

On Tuesday 4 April 2023, Premier Chris Minns announced his new ministry, reducing the cabinet to 22 ministers.

For the first time in the state's history, the New South Wales ministry will comprise of 50% women (excluding the Premier), with a number of portfolios held by women for the first time in history.

Prue Car will take on the role of Deputy Premier, as well as the portfolio of Education.

The government will also see a woman leading the upper house for the first time, with Penny Sharpe appointed as the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, heading the portfolios of Environment, Heritage, Climate Change and Energy.

Attorney General Michael Daley is the only former minister to be sworn into the new cabinet.

Some slight changes have occurred to the shadow cabinet, with Mr, Harris becoming Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty Minister as well as the Minister for Gaming.

The portfolio of Energy is no longer headed by Jihad Dib, however, he will be fronting the Customer Service and Digital Government portfolios.

Premier Minns is supporting a member of the cross bench, Greg Piper who represents the area of Lake Macquarie, as speaker in a bid to protect the Labor vote on the floor in a minority government.

The major focus of the Minns government will be the following policy areas which were committed prior to their election:

- Rebuilding NSW essential services
- Removing the wages cap for essential workers including nurses, teachers, paramedics, police officers and firefighters
- Dealing with the crises occurring in the school and hospital systems
- Combatting the energy crises
- Helping mitigate the effects of the rising cost of living.



Minns Ministry | April 2023

The Hon. Chris Minns MP	Premier
The Hon. Prudance Car MP	Deputy Premier
	Minister for Education and Early Learning
	Minister for Western Sydney
The Hon. Penny Sharpe MLC	Minister for Climate Change
	Minister for Energy Minister for the Environment
	Minister for the Environment Minister for Heritage
The Hon. John Graham MLC	Special Minister of State
	Minister for Roads
	Minister for the Arts
	Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy
	Minister for Jobs and Tourism
The Hon. Daniel Mookhey MLC	Treasurer
The Hon. Ryan Park MP	Minister for Health
	Minister for Regional Health
	Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast
The Hon. Jo Haylen MP	Minister for Transport
The Hon. Paul Scully MP	Minister for Planning and Public Spaces
The Hon. Sophie Cotsis MP	Minister for Industrial Relations
	Minister for Work Health and Safety
The Hon. Yasmin Catley MP	Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism
The Hon. Jihab Dib MP	Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
	Minister for Emergency Services
	Minister for Youth Justice Minister for Families and Communities
The Hon. Kate Washington MP	Minister for Disability Inclusion
	Minister for Agriculture
The Hon. Tara Moriarty MLC	Minister for Regional New South Wales
-	Minister for Western New South Wales
The Hon. Ron Hoenig MP	Minister for Local Government
The non. Kon noeing ivir	Vice President of the Executive Council
The Hon. Courtney Houssos	Minister for Finance
MLC	Minister for Natural Resources
The Hon. Stephen Kamper MP	Minister for Small Business
	Minister for Lands and Property
	Minister for Multiculturalism
	Minister for Sport Minister for Water
The Hon. Rose Jackson MLC	Minister for Water Minister for Housing
	Minister for Homelessness
	Minister for Mental Health
	Minister for Youth
	Minister for the North Coast
The Hon. Anoulack Chanthivong	Minister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading
MP	Minister for Industry and Trade



	Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology Minister for Corrections	
The Hon. Timothy Crakanthorp MP	Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education Minister for the Hunter	
The Hon. David Harris MP	Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty Minister for Gaming and Racing Minister for Veterans Minister for Medical Research Minister for the Central Coast	
The Hon. Jodie Harrison MP	Minister for Women Minister for Seniors Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault	
The Hon. Jennifer Aitchison MP	Minister for Regional Transport and Roads	
The Hon. Michael Daley MP	Attorney General	

Parliamentary Office Holders | April 2023

The Hon. Penny Sharpe MLC	Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
The Hon. John Graham MLC	Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
The Hon. Ron Hoenig MP	Leader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly