

NSW STATE ELECTION: LABOR ELECTS CHRIS MINNS AS NSW'S 47TH PREMIER AND APPOINT INTERIM MINISTERY AS SEVEN SEATS REMAIN IN DOUBT

28 March 2023

This week sees the end of the caretaker period of NSW as Labor's interim ministry is sworn in by Governor Margaret Beazley.

Labor Leader Chris Minns has been sworn in as the 47th premier of NSW with his interim ministry consisting of the following MPs

- Daniel Mookhey as the Treasurer
- Prue Car as the Minister for Education
- Jo Haylen as the Minister for Transport
- John Graham as the Minister for Roads
- Penny Sharpe as the Minister for Environment
- Ryan Park as the Minister for Health.

The official ministry is expected to be appointed early next week following election by the Labor Caucus.

As it currently stands, Labor hold 45 seats, requiring an additional two seats to form a majority government. Labor has received confirmation of "confidence and supply" from three independent MPs who issued a joint statement yesterday; Alex Greenwich, Joe McGirr and Greg Piper.

As of the time of publication, seven seats remain in doubt with Labor ahead only slightly in the seats of Kiama and Ryde.

The currently contested landscape and the seats in doubt are as follows:

Kiama: Labor / Independent Ryde: Labor / Liberal Goulburn: Labor / Liberal Miranda: Labor / Liberal Terrigal: Labor / Liberal

Holsworthy: Labor / Liberal

Upper Hunter: Labor / National