HawkerBritton Government Relations Strategy

WA Cabinet Reshuffle

On the 13th of December 2022, Premier Mark McGowan announced two new Ministers will join his Cabinet team following a Special Caucus Meeting involving all Labor Members of Parliament.

- Wanneroo MLA Sabine Winton will serve as Minister for Child Protection, Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence, Community Services, and the new portfolio of Early Childhood Education.
- South West MLC Jackie Jarvis will serve as Minister for Agriculture and Food, Forestry, and Small Business

They will take the places of retiring Minister Alannah MacTiernan and outgoing Water Minister Dave Kelly, who announced last week he would be stepping down from cabinet.

New Portfolio allocations were announced today, the 14th of December:

Key Ministerial changes to note are:

- Education Minister Sue Ellery, who has announced her retirement from politics at the 2025 election, will continue to serve in the Cabinet as Minister for Finance, Commerce, and Women's Interests
- Tony Buti will take on the Education portfolio and continue to serve as Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, and Citizenship and Multicultural Interests.
- Simone McGurk will now serve as the Minister for Training, Water, and Youth.
- Deputy Premier Roger Cook will add the Hydrogen Industry portfolio to his existing responsibilities.
- Don Punch will now serve as Minister for Regional Development and continue to serve as Minister for Disability Services, Fisheries, and Seniors and Ageing.
- Reece Whitby will add the Racing and Gaming portfolio to his existing responsibilities
- Stephen Dawson has been appointed as Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy; Emergency Services, Medical Research, and Volunteering

Five new Parliamentary Secretaries have been appointed:

- Jodie Hanns will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
- Dr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon. Sue Ellery MLC
- Meredith Hammat will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA
- Pierre Yang will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Simone McGurk
- Hannah Beazley will serve as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Further information

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's WA director Emma Ramage at eramage@hawkerbritton.con or on +61 430 811 929.

A PDF printable version of the WA Cabinet is available <u>here</u>.



MCGOWAN GOVERNMENT CABINET & Parliamentary Secretaries

Minister	Portfolio	Parliamentary Secretary
Hon Mark McGowan MLA	Premier; Treasurer; Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations	Ms Jodie Hanns MLA
Hon Roger Cook MLA	Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Hydrogen Industry; Tourism; Science	Ms Jessica Shaw MLA
Hon Sue Ellery MLC	Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests	Dr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan MLA
Hon Stephen Dawson MLC	Emergency Services; Innovation and the Digital Economy; Medical Research; Volunteering	Ms Hannah Beazley MLA
Hon David Templeman MLA	Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage	Hon Samantha Rowe MLC
Hon John Quigley MLA	Attorney General; Electoral Affairs	Hon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Paul Papalia MLA	Police; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues	Mr Terry Healy MLA
Hon Bill Johnston MLA	Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services; Industrial Relations	Hon Matthew Swinbourn MLC
Hon Rita Saffioti MLA	Transport; Planning; Ports	Mrs Jessica Stojkovski MLA
Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA	Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests	Mr Yaz Mubarakai MLA & Ms Meredith Hammat MLA
Hon Simone McGurk MLA	Training; Water; Youth	Hon Pierre Yang MLC
Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA	Health; Mental Health	Mr Simon Millman MLA
Hon John Carey MLA	Housing; Lands; Homelessness; Local Government	Mrs Jessica Stojkovski MLA
Hon Don Punch MLA	Regional Development; Disability Services; Fisheries; Seniors and Ageing	Hon Kyle McGinn MLC
Hon Reece Whitby MLA	Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming	Hon Darren West MLC
Hon Sabine Winton MLA	Early Childhood Education; Child Protection; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services	
Hon Jackie Jarvis MLC	Agriculture and Food; Forestry; Small Business	
Mr David Michael MLA	Cabinet Secretary	