

## A renewed National Cultural Policy – Consultation Open

On Friday 1 July 2022, the Albanese Labor Government announced the opening of consultation on the development of a new National Cultural Policy for Australia.

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, intends to deliver the policy by the end of 2022, which will use the diverse voices of the Australian arts, entertainment, and cultural sector to build on <u>Creative Australia</u>, the national cultural policy launched by Prime Minister Julia Gillard in 2013.

The policy will be based around five pillars:

- **First Nations first:** recognising and respecting the crucial place of these stories at the centre of our arts and culture.
- A place for every story: reflecting the diversity of our stories and the contribution of all Australians as the creators of culture.
- The centrality of the artist: supporting the artist as worker and celebrating their role as the creators of culture.
- **Strong institutions:** providing support across the spectrum of institutions funded, philanthropic and commercial which sustain our arts and culture.
- **Reaching the audience:** ensuring our stories reach the people at home and abroad.

The new National Cultural Policy will also look at promoting Australian creators on streaming platforms, protection from ticket scalpers, and a national insurance scheme for live events.

Consultation will include a series of town hall events in the coming months. The first of which will take place in Hobart on Wednesday 6 July, 11am-12pm. Expressions of interest to attend the Hobart town hall can be sent to <u>culturalpolicy@arts.gov.au</u> by COB today, Monday 4 July 2022.

More information on town hall events can be found here.

Written submissions on the National Cultural Policy close Monday 22 August 2022, here.

## **Expert Review Panels**

Five expert review panels have been appointed, one for each pillar of the new policy. The panels are made up of fifteen acclaimed artists, writers, producers, and industry professionals, and will help guide the development of the Albanese Labor Government's National Cultural Policy.

Panel 1: First Nations	Mr Wesley Enoch AM	Ms Rachael Maza AM	Ms Claire Coleman
Panel 2: A place for every story	Ms Caroline Bowditch	Professor Deborah Cheetham AO	Mr Khoa Do
Panel 3: The centrality of the artist	Mr Matthew Chesher	Mr Michael Hohnen	Ms Deena Lynch
Panel 4: Strong institutions	Ms Kerri Glasscock	Ms Karen Quinlan AM	Mr Kim Walker
Panel 5: Reaching the audience	Ms Kate Ben-Tovim	Mr Fintan Magee	Mr Emile Sherman

1

More information on the panellists, including short biographies, can be accessed here.



## **Further information**

For further information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant Simon Banks on +61 419 638 587.