## HawkerBritton

## **New Victorian Government Ministry**

On Monday 27 June 2022, a new Victorian Government Ministry was sworn in by the Governor of Victoria.

The swearing in of the new Ministry comes as four long-serving Labor MP's whom were Lead Minister's (responsible for the Department) in the Andrews Government announced they would not recontest the next election and as such opted to stand aside from their ministerial responsibilities to allow a new generation to come forward.

The four Ministers who announced their retirement on 24 June 2022 include:

- The Hon. James Merlino MP Deputy Premier, Minister for Education; Mental Health and Member for Monbulk.
- The Hon. Martin Foley MP Minister for Health; Ambulance Services; Equality and Member for Albert Park.
- The Hon. Lisa Neville MP Minister for Police; Water and Member for Bellarine.
- The Hon. Martin Pakula MP Minister for Industry Support and Recovery; Trade; Business Precincts; Tourism, Sport and Major Events; Racing and Member for Keysborough.

The announcements on the 24 June 2022 come in addition to the retirement of Housing and Planning Minister Richard Wynne that was announced last year.

In the new Andrews Government Ministry, Member for Bendigo East, The Hon. Jacinta Allan MP, will serve as Deputy Premier and hold the portfolios of Minister for Transport Infrastructure; the Suburban Rail Loop; and Commonwealth Games Delivery. Allan becomes just the second woman to hold the position of Deputy Premier after former Labor Premier the late The Hon. Joan Kirner AC.

The new introductions to the Ministry include:

- The Hon. Lizzie Blandthorn MP Minister for Planning and Leader of the House.
- The Hon. Colin Brooks MP Minster for Child Protection and Family Services; and Disability, Ageing and Carers.
- The Hon. Steve Dimopoulos MP Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events.
- The Hon. Sonya Kilkenny MP Minister for Corrections; Youth Justice; Victim Support; and Fishing and Boating.
- The Hon. Harriet Shing MLC Minister for Water; Regional Development; and Equality.

Member for Bendigo West, Maree Edwards, replaces Brooks as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

The new additions to the Ministry bring the number of women in the Victorian Cabinet to 14, which is more than any other Australian jurisdiction. Three of the four parliamentary leadership positions are also now held by women.

1



## Andrews Ministry | June 2022

Daniel Andrews	Premier
Jacinta Allan	Deputy Premier
	Minister for Transport Infrastructure
	Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop
	Minister for Commonwealth Games Delivery
Jaclyn Symes	Leader of the Government in the Legislative
	Council
	Attorney-General
	Minister for Emergency Services
Gayle Tierney	Deputy Leader of the Government in the
	Legislative Council
	Minister for Training and Skills
	Minister for Higher Education
	Minister for Agriculture
Tim Pallas	Treasurer
	Minister for Industrial Relations
	Minster for Economic Development
	Minister for Trade
Lizzie Blandthorn	Leader of the House
	Minister for Planning
Colin Brooks	Minister for Child Protection and Family
	Services
	Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers
Anthony Carbines	Minister for Police
	Minister for Crime Prevention
	Minister for Racing
Ben Carroll	Minister for Industry Support and Recovery
	Minister for Business Precincts
	Minister for Public Transport
	Minister for Roads and Road Safety
Lily D'Ambrosio	Minister for Energy
	Minister for Environment and Climate Action
	Minister for Solar Homes
Steve Dimopoulos	Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events
	Minister for Creative Industries
Melissa Horne	Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and
	Liquor Regulation
	Minister for Ports and Freight
	Minister for Local Government
	Minister for Suburban Development
Natalie Hutchins	Minister for Education
	Minister for Women
Sonya Kilkenny	Minister for Corrections
	Minister for Youth Justice
	Minister for Victim Support
	Minister for Fishing and Boating
Shaun Leane	Minister for Commonwealth Games Legacy
	Minister for Veterans
Danny Pearson	Minister for Housing

2

ſ



A
Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Government Services
Minister for Regulatory Reform
Minister for Employment
Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and
the Digital Economy
Minister for Resources
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Water
Minister for Regional Development
Minister for Equality
Minister for Prevention of Family Violence
Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Minister for Community Sport
Minister for Youth
Minister for Early Childhood and Pre-Prep
Minister for Workplace Safety
Minister for Health
Minister for Ambulance Services
Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Treaty and First Peoples
Cabinet Secretary

## **Further information**

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton Victorian consultants JP Blandthorn on + 61 3 9034 3021 and Emma Webster on +61 3 9034 3020. Further Hawker Britton Occasional Papers on the activities of the Victorian Government are available <u>here</u>.