

New Department Secretaries

On Wednesday the 23rd of June, Prime Minister Anthony Albanese appointed several new departmental secretaries.

Each of these appointments will be for five years and will take effect from July 2022. Key secretarial changes are:

- Jim Betts will be appointed as Secretary of the Department of Infrastructure, Transport,
 Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
- Jan Adams AO PSM will be appointed as Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
- Natalie James will be appointed as Secretary of the Department of Employment and Workplace Relations.
- Jenny Wilkinson PSM will be appointed as Secretary of the Department of Finance
- Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM will return to the Australian Public Service as Secretary for Public Sector Reform.
- Simon Atkinson and Kathryn Campbell AO CSC will conclude their Secretary roles with effect from 1 July 2022.
- David Fredericks PSM will be leaving his role as Secretary of the Department of Industry,
 Science and Resources, to lead the newly created Department of Climate Change, Energy, the
 Environment and Water.

A complete list of Australian Government Departmental Changes is available <u>here</u>.

The new secretary of the Industry Department will be announced soon.

Attached below is a complete list of Secretaries and their Departments.



Department	Secretary
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet	Prof Glyn Davis AC
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry	Mr Andrew Metcalfe AO
Attorney-General's Department	Ms Katherine Jones PSM
Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water	Mr David Fredericks PSM
Department of Defence	Mr Greg Moriarty
Department of Education	Dr Tony Cook PSM
Department of Employment and Workplace Relations	Ms Natalie James
Department of Finance	Ms Jenny Wilkinson PSM [from 9 Aug 2022]
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade	Ms Jan Adams AO PSM
Department of Health and Aged Care	Prof Brendan Murphy AC
Department of Home Affairs	Mr Michael Pezzullo AO
Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts	Mr Jim Betts
Department of Industry, Science and Resources	Meghan Quinn
Department of Social Services	Mr Ray Griggs AO CSC
Department of Veterans' Affairs	Ms Elizabeth Cosson AM CSC
Department of the Treasury	Dr Steven Kennedy PSM

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's Managing Director Simon Banks on +61 419 648 587.