Australian Government Departmental Changes

On the 1st of June, following the swearing-in of the first Albanese Ministry, the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet announced new Administrative Arrangements Orders. Administrative Arrangements Orders (AAOs) formally allocate executive responsibility among ministers. They set out which matters and legislation are administered by which department or portfolio. The full administrative orders can be accessed <u>here</u>.

Key changes include:

- A new Department of Employment and Workplace Relations will be established
- A new Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water will be established
- The Department of Health will be renamed the Department of Health and Aged Care
- The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications will be renamed the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts.

In addition:

- The Department of Finance will gain responsibility for data policy, including the Digital Transformation Agency
- The Department of Home Affairs will gain responsibility for natural disaster response and mitigation, including the National Recovery and Resilience Agency.
- The Attorney-General's portfolio will gain responsibility for criminal law enforcement and policy, including the Australian Federal Police.

The complete Ministry list, divided by portfolio, is listed below.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton's Managing Director Simon Banks on +61 419 648 587.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Prime Minister	The Hon Anthony Albanese MP
Minister for the Public Service Minister for Women Vice-President of the Executive Council Manager of Government Business in the Senate	Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher
Minister for Indigenous Australians	The Hon Linda Burney MP
Cabinet Secretary	The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP
Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister	The Hon Patrick Gorman MP
Assistant Minister for Indigenous Australians	Senator the Hon Malarndirri McCarthy

Department of Defence

Minister for Defence Deputy Prime Minister	The Hon Richard Marles MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs	The Hon Matt Keogh MP
Minister for Defence Personnel	The Hon Matt Keogh MP
Minister for Defence Industry	The Hon Pat Conroy MP
Assistant Minister for Defence	The Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP
Assistant Minister for Veterans' Affairs	The Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Minister for Foreign Affairs Leader of the Government in the Senate	Senator the Hon Penny Wong
Minister for Trade and Tourism Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate	Senator the Hon Don Farrell
Minister for International Development and the Pacific	The Hon Pat Conroy MP
Assistant Minister for Trade	Senator the Hon Tim Ayres
Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs	The Hon Tim Watts MP

Department of Finance

Treasurer	The Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP
Minister for Small Business	The Hon Julie Collins MP
Assistant Treasurer	The Hon Stephen Jones MP
Minister for Financial Services	The Hon Stephen Jones MP
Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury	The Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP
Minister for Finance	Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher

Government Relations Strategy

Special Minister of State

Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations	The Hon Tony Burke MP
Leader of the House	

Department of Education

Minister for Skills and Training	The Hon Brendan O'Connor MP
Minister for Education	The Hon Jason Clare MP
Minister for Early Childhood Education	The Hon Dr Anne Aly MP
Minister for Youth	The Hon Dr Anne Aly MP
Assistant Minister for Education	Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm

Department of Health and Aged Care

Minister for Health and Aged Care (Deputy Leader of the House)	The Hon Mark Butler MP
Minister for Aged Care	The Hon Anika Wells MP
Minister for Sport	The Hon Anika Wells MP
Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care	The Hon Ged Kearney MP
Assistant Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention	The Hon Emma McBride MP
Assistant Minister for Rural and Regional Health	The Hon Emma McBride MP
Assistant Minister for Indigenous Health	Senator the Hon Malarndirri McCarthy

Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Minister for Climate Change and Energy	The Hon Chris Bowen MP
Minister for the Environment and Water	The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP
Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy	Senator the Hon Jenny McAllister

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts.

Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government	The Hon Catherine King MP
Minister for Communications	The Hon Michelle Rowland MP
Minister for the Arts	The Hon Tony Burke MP
Minister for Northern Australia	The Hon Madeleine King MP
Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories	The Hon Kristy McBain MP

 Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
 Senator the Hon Carol Brown

 Assistant Minister for Regional Development
 Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm

Department of Social Services

Minister for Social Services	The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP
Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme	The Hon Bill Shorten MP
Minister for Government Services	The Hon Bill Shorten MP
Minister for Housing	The Hon Julie Collins MP
Minister for Homelessness	The Hon Julie Collins MP
Assistant Minister for Social Services	The Hon Justine Elliot MP
Assistant Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence	The Hon Justine Elliot MP

Attorney General's Department

Attorney-General	The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP
Assistant Minister for the Republic	The Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

Minister for Resources	The Hon Madeleine King MP
Minister for Industry and Science	The Hon Ed Husic MP
Assistant Minister for Manufacturing	Senator the Hon Tim Ayres

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry	Senator the Hon Murray Watt
--	-----------------------------

Department of Home Affairs

Minister for Home Affairs	The Hon Clare O'Neil MP
Minister for Cyber Security	The Hon Clare O'Neil MP
Minister for Emergency Management	Senator the Hon Murray Watt
Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs	The Hon Andrew Giles MP