HawkerBritton Government Relations Strategy

South Australia Shadow Cabinet Updates

March 2021

On 3 March 2021, South Australian Labor Leader Peter Malinauskas MP announced that MLC Emily Bourke will join the Opposition front bench.

Bourke will also take on the portfolios of Shadow Minister for Local Government and Shadow Minister for the City of Adelaide.

Bourke's appointment to the front bench will continue Labor's 50 per cent gender balance where seven of the 14 member Shadow Cabinet are women. At present, three of the 14 member Liberal Cabinet are women.

Bourke was first elected to the Legislative Council at the 2018 South Australian State Election. Previously, Bourke was Assistant Shadow Minister for the City of Adelaide and the Assistant Shadow Minister to the Leader of the Opposition. Prior to the 2018 election, Bourke worked as a staffer for former South Australian Premier, Jay Weatherill.

Further changes to the Shadow Ministry include:

- Portfolio of Multicultural Affairs to Zoe Bettison MP
- Portfolio of Arts to Katrine Hildyard MP
- Portfolio of Planning to Andrea Michaels MP

The Shadow Cabinet reshuffle follows the decision by Jayne Stinson MP to stand down from the front bench.

Title	Shadow Minister
Leader of the Opposition	Peter Malinauskas MP
Shadow Minister for Defence & Space Industries	
Shadow Minister for Jobs	
Deputy Leader of the Opposition	Susan Close MP
Shadow Minister for Environment & Water	
Shadow Minister for Climate Change	
Shadow Minister for Industry & Higher Education	
Shadow Attorney-General	Kyam Maher MLC
Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations & Public Sector	
Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs	
Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council	
Shadow Minister for Infrastructure & Transport	Tom Koutsantonis MP
Shadow Minister for Mining & Energy	
Shadow Minister for Government Accountability	
Leader of Opposition Business in the House of Assembly	
Shadow Treasurer	Stephen Mullighan MP
Shadow Minister for Trade, Tourism & Investment	Zoe Bettison MP
Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs	
Shadow Minister for Health & Wellbeing	Chris Picton MP

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL 08 8130 1911 Level 8, 44 Waymouth Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

HB



Shadow Minister for Child Protection	Katrine Hildyard MP
Shadow Minister for Women & the Prevention of Domestic & Family	
Violence	
Shadow Minister for Recreation, Sport & Racing	
Shadow Minister for Arts	
Shadow Minister for Police & Road Safety	Lee Odenwalder MP
Shadow Minister for Emergency Services	
Shadow Minister for Correctional Services	
Shadow Minister for Human Services	Nat Cook MP
Shadow Minister for Primary Industries & Regional Development	Clare Scriven MLC
Shadow Minister for Forestry	
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council	
Shadow Minister for Education	Blair Boyer MP
Shadow Minister for Training & Skills	
Shadow Minister for Veterans' Affairs MP	
Shadow Minister for Small & Family Business	Andrea Michaels MP
Shadow Minister for Consumer & Business Affairs	
Shadow Minister for Housing & Urban Development	
Shadow Minister for Housing	
Shadow Minister for Local Government	Emily Bourke MLC
Shadow Minister for the City of Adelaide	

Further information

For further information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant <u>Simon Banks</u> on +61 419 638 587 or <u>Stephen Halliday</u> of Halliday Advisory on +61 418 808 799.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL 08 8130 1911 Level 8, 44 Waymouth Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

HB