

Northern Territory election outcome

August 2020

On 22 August 2020 Northern Territory Labor was returned to Government, having won a majority of seats in the Northern Territory (NT) Parliament.

On Monday 7 September the Chief Minister announced the composition of the new Ministry.

Contents

Further information	1
Northern Territory Ministry	2
Results	3
Key influencing factors:	3
Seat by seat results	4
History of Elections 1997-20126	
Chief Minister– The Hon Michael Gunner MP	

Further information

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant, Queensland and Northern Territory Director, Elliot Stein on +61 431 744 115 and estein@hawkerbritton.com or the Queensland and Northern Territory Policy and Business Analyst Corbin Duncan on cduncan@hawkerbritton.com



Northern Territory Ministry

MICHAEL GUNNER – CHIEF MINISTER

Treasurer

Minister for Major Projects and Territory

Economic Reconstruction

Minister for Strategic Defence Relations

NICOLE MANISON – DEPUTY CHIEF MINISTER

Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency

Services

Minister for Mining and Industry

Minister for Northern Australia and Trade

Minister for Defence Industries

Minister for Agribusiness and Aquaculture

Minister for International Education

NATASHA FYLES – LEADER OF GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

Minister for Health

Minister for Tourism and Hospitality

Minister for Racing, Gaming and Licensing

Minister for Alcohol Policy

Minister for Major Events

Minister for National Resilience

EVA LAWLER

Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and

Logistics

Minister for Renewables and Energy

Minister for Environment

Minister for Water Security

Minister for Climate Change

Minister for Essential Services

LAUREN MOSS

Minister for Education

Minister for Children

Minister for Youth

Minister for Seniors

Minister for Women

SELENA UIBO

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Minister for Treaty and Local Decision Making

Minister for Parks and Rangers

PAUL KIRBY

Minister for Small Business

Minister for Jobs and Training

Minister for Corporate and Digital

Development

Minister for Public Employment

Minister for Veterans Affairs

Minister for Recreational Fishing

KATE WORDEN

Minister for Territory Families and Urban

Housing

Minister for Disabilities

Minister for Sport

Minister for Multicultural Affairs

CHANSEY PAECH

Minister for Local Government

Minister for Central Australia Economic

Reconstruction

Minister for Remote Housing and Town

Camps

Minister for Indigenous Essential Services

Minister for Arts and Culture



ResultsA breakdown of the results is as follows:

Party	Current seat number	Gain/loss	Primary vote	Swing
Australian Labor Party (ALP)	14	A net loss of 3 seats, with a state-wide swing of -2.9% (primary).	39.4%	-2.8%
Country Liberal Party (CLP)	8	A net gain of 5 seats, with a swing of -0.2%.	31.3%	-0.6%
Independents	2		(included under 'other' below)	
Territory Alliance	1		12.9%	+10.0%
Greens C	Swing of 1.4% per cent (primary) to the Greens.	4 3%	+1.4%	

Key influencing factors:

Territory Labor ran a campaign on its record of a decisive and successful health response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Labor campaign focussed on delivering an economic and health recovery from the pandemic, making the point that a strong health response allowed for a strong economic response.

Territory Alliance ran a campaign for change, reform of cannabis and vape laws, and a ban on fracking, a position that was a reversal of past support for fracking. The Greens appear to have benefited from the elevated discussion of fracking and environmental issues.

The CLP ran its campaign on crime and what it alleged were poor economic indicators.



Seat by seat results

Member elected	Electorate	Party	Change of seat
Lawrence Costa	Arafura	ALP	ALP retain
Robyn Lambley	Araluen	ТА	TA retain
Selena Uibo	Arnhem	ALP	ALP retain
Steven Edgington	Barkly	CLP	CLP gain
Mark Turner	Blain	ALP	ALP gain
Joshua Burgoyne	Braitling	CLP	CLP gain
Marie-Clare Boothby	Brennan	CLP	CLP gain
Lauren Moss	Casuarina	ALP	ALP retain
Ian Sloan	Daly	CLP	CLP retain, new MP
Eva Lawler	Drysdale	ALP	ALP retain
Michael Gunner	Fannie Bay	ALP	ALP retain
Mark Monaghan	Fong Lim	ALP	ALP retain, new MP
Kezia Purick	Goyder	IND	IND retain
Joel Bowden	Johnston	ALP	ALP retain
Ngaree Ah Kit	Karama	ALP	ALP retain
Jo Hersey	Katherine	CLP	CLP gain
Chansey Peach	Gwoja	ALP	ALP retain, significant redistribution
Bill Yan	Namatjia	CLP	CLP gain
Gerald Maley	Nelson	CLP	CLP gain
Yingiya Mark Guyula	Mulka	IND	IND retain
Natasha Fyles	Nightcliff	ALP	ALP retain
Paul Kirby	Port Darwin	ALP	ALP retain
Kate Worden	Sanderson	ALP	ALP retain



Lia Finocchiaro	Spillett	CLP	CLP retain
Nicole Manison	Wanguri	ALP	ALP retain

History of Elections 1997-20126

The following table represents the voting trend in NT elections between 1997 and 2016. The Number of seats won by Parties and Independents include:

Party	1997	2001	2005	2008	2012	2016	2020
ALP	7	13	19	13	8	18	14
Country Liberal	18	10	4	11	16	2	8
Independents	-	2	2	1	1	5	3

Notable seats

- The seat of Blain was gained by the ALP; the seat was held by Territory Alliance leader Terry Mills by a margin of 1.4%.
- Labor MP Chansey Peach held the seat of Gwoja, previously Stuart, which had a significant redistribution.

Chief Minister- The Hon Michael Gunner MP

The Hon Michael Gunner was elected as NT Chief Minister on 27 August 2016.

Mr Gunner was elected to the Darwin-based seat of Fannie Bay in 2008 and became NT Opposition Leader on 19 April 2015.

He is the formerly held the portfolios of of Shadow Treasurer, Shadow Minister for Major Projects, Northern Australia Development, Police, Fire and Emergency Services, Open and Transparent Government and Business.

Mr Gunner is a fourth generation Territorian who was born in Alice Springs, went to primary school in Tennant Creek, and graduated from Charles Darwin University.

He was involved in student politics and served as policy advisor to, then Chief Minister, Claire Martin.

When Ms. Martin retired in 2008, Mr Gunner took over the seat of Fannie Bay.

Mr Gunner is the first Territorian born Chief Minister.