HawkerBritton Government Relations Strategy

2021 Western Australian Cabinet

March 2021

On 18 March 2021, following the Western Australian (WA) state election and the re-election of a Labor government, Premier Mark McGowan has announced his new Cabinet.

Key Changes

- Mark McGowan will now also assume the role of Treasurer
- Michelle Roberts will now leave the Cabinet to become the first female Speaker in the Legislative Assembly

New Portfolios

- Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development for Hydrogen Alannah MacTiernan
- Minster for Medical Research Roger Cook
- Minister for Climate Action Amber-Jade Sanderson

New Ministers

• Amber-Jade Sanderson

Amber-Jade Sanderson was first elected to the Legislative Council for the East Metropolitan Region in April 2013. Sanderson was then elected to the Legislative Assembly for the seat of Morley in March 2017. Anderson was previously an Assistant Secretary for United Voice in WA.

• Don Punch

Don Punch was first elected in March of 2017 for the seat of Bunbury. He holds a Bachelor of Psychology and a Master of Business Administration. Punch previously worked as a social worker and an executive in the public service.

Reece Whitby

Reece Whitby was first elected to the seat of Baldivis, a new seat, in March 2017. Prior to entering parliament, Whitby worked as a Media Adviser and Journalist.

• Tony Buti

Tony Buti was elected for Armadale at a by-election in October 2010. Buti holds a Bachelor of Laws and a PhD specialising in guardianship law. Prior to entering parliament, Buti lectured at Murdoch University.

John Carey

John Carey was first elected to the seat of Perth in March 2017. Prior to this, Carey was the Mayor for the City of Vincent from 2013-2017.

A copy of the new Ministry can be found on the following page.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL 08 8130 1911 Level 8, 44 Waymouth Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

HB



Full Cabinet

Portfolio	Minister
Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management Minister for Federal-State Relations	Mark McGowan MLA
Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Minister for Medical Research; Minister for State Development; Minister for Jobs and Trade; Minister for Science	Roger Cook MLA
Minister for Education and Training; Leader in the Legislative Council	Sue Ellery MLC
Minister for Mental Health; Minister for Aboriginal Affairs; Minister for Industrial Relations; Deputy Leader in the Legislative Council	Stephen Dawson MLC
Minister for Regional Development; Minister for Agriculture and Food; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development for Hydrogen	Alannah MacTiernan MLC
Minister for Tourism; Minister for Culture and the Arts; Minister for Heritage; Leader of the House	David Templeman MLA
Attorney General; Minister for Electoral Affairs	John Quigley MLA
Minister for Police; Minister for Road Safety; Minister for Defence Industry; Minister for Veterans Issues	Paul Papalia MLA
Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Minister for Energy; Minister for Corrective Services	Bill Johnston MLA
Minister for Transport; Minister for Planning; Minister for Ports	Rita Saffioti MLA
Minister for Finance; Minister for Lands; Minister for Sport and Recreation; Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests	Dr Tony Buti MLA
Minister for Child Protection; Minister for Women's Interests; Minister for Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Minister for Community Services	Simone McGurk MLA
Minister for Water; Minister for Forestry; Minister for Youth	Dave Kelly MLA
Minister for Environment; Minister for Climate Action; Minister for Commerce	Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA
Minister for Housing; Minister for Local Government	John Carey MLA
Minister for Disability Services; Minister for Fisheries; Minister for Innovation and ICT; Minister for Seniors and Ageing	Don Punch MLA
Minister for Emergency Services; Minister for Racing and Gaming; Minister for Small Business; Minister for Volunteering	Reece Whitby MLA
Cabinet Secretary	David Michael MLA

Further information

For further information, please contact your Hawker Britton consultant <u>Simon Banks</u> on +61 419 638 587.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL 08 8130 1911 Level 8, 44 Waymouth Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

HB