

## Current composition of the Australian Parliament October 2020

## **House of Representatives**

Coalition	Labor	Greens	Katter	Centre Alliance	Independents
77	68	1	1	1	3

- On 4 July 2020, a by-election in Eden-Monaro saw the retired Labor MP Mike Kelly replaced by Kristy McBain (ALP).
- On 18 September, Dr John McVeigh resigned from his seat of Groom. The by election date has been set as the 28 November.

## Senate

Coalition	Labor	Greens	One Nation	Centre Alliance	Jacki Lambie Network	Independents
36	26	9	2	1	1	1

- In February 2017, Senator Cory Bernardi (SA) resigned from the Liberal Party to form the Australian Conservatives party. Following the 2019 election that party was deregistered at the Senator's request by the AEC on 25 June 2019. Senator Bernardi continued to sit as an Independent.
- On 16 August 2019 Senator Mitchell Fifield resigned and, on the 12 September 2019 Hon. Sarah Henderson was sworn in to replace him.
- On 11 November 2019 Senator Arthur Sinodinos resigned and, on the 25 November 2019 Jim Molan, AO, DSC was sworn in to replace him.
- On 20 January 2020, Cory Bernardi resigned from the Senate. As he was originally elected as a Liberal Party representative, his replacement needed to come from that party. On 6 February 2020, Andrew McLachlan was appointed to fill the casual vacancy.
- On 10 August 2020, Senator Rex Patrick announced that he will represent South Australia as an independent senator
- On 26 August, Senator Richard di Natali, former Leader of the Australian Greens, announced his resignation as a Senator.
- On 6 October, Senator Lidia Thorpe was sworn in, filling Richard di Natali's casual vacancy

## For more information, please contact Hawker Britton consultant Simon Banks on +61 419 638 587

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 3 9034 3020 Level 1, 55 Exhibition Street MELBOURNE VIC 3000

HB-