

Western Australian Election 2021

On 3 February 2021, Premier Mark McGowan advised the Western Australia Governor, Hon Kim Beazley AC to issue the writs for the State election as per legislative requirements under the State's four-year fixed term election cycle.

The State election will be called for Saturday March 13, 2021. All 59 seats in the Legislative Assembly and all 36 seats in the Legislative Council will be up for election.

The Premier has also directed the WA public sector to go into caretaker mode which aims to limit the impact of decision making on an incoming government.

Due to the current COVID-19 State of Emergency and the bushfires taking place in Perth's northeast, the caretaker conventions include clear guidelines to ensure the Government and the State Disaster Council can continue to function.

The Premier will continue to participate in National Cabinet as other State and Territory leaders have done during the pandemic.

Regular campaign activity will be lessened by both the ongoing fires and the newly announced post-lockdown transition measures for the Perth and Peel regions.

The 2017 state election saw WA Labor win 41 out of 59 seats in the Legislative Assembly, a 12 seat majority and an overall swing of 12.8%. In the Legislative Council, Labor won 14 seats, the Liberals won 9 and the Greens won 4.

MP Zak Kirkup will now lead the WA Liberal Party to the March election and represents the marginal seat of Dawesville.

The core issues of the election include the State's response to COVID-19, reduction of state debt and major infrastructure and job plans, such as the New City West railway.

WA 2017 Electoral Pendulum

Electorate	Party	Margin (%)
Armadale	ALP	25.2
Warnbro	ALP	23.7
Rockingham	ALP	23.4
Fremantle	ALP	23.1
Bassendean	ALP	21.5
Butler	ALP	19.4
Mirrabooka	ALP	19.2
Kwinana	ALP	18.1
Carrington	ALP	18.1



Mandurah	ALP	18.0
Baldivis	ALP	17.9
Maylands	ALP	17.9
West Swan	ALP	17.1
Girrawheen	ALP	16.7
Victoria Park	ALP	16.5
Cockburn	ALP	15.9
Thornlie	ALP	15.8
Willagee	ALP	15.5
Collie-Preston	ALP	14.7
Swan Hills	ALP	14.5
Midland	ALP	
		13.0
Kimberley	ALP	13.0
Perth	ALP	11.8
Morley	ALP	11.4
Belmont	ALP	11.4
Bunbury	ALP	10.8
Forrestfield	ALP	9.4
Southern River	ALP	7.9
Wanneroo	ALP	7.3
Balcatta	ALP	5.8
Darling Range	ALP	5.8
Albany	ALP	5.1
Mount Lawley	ALP	4.0
Bicton	ALP	2.9
Burns Beach	ALP	2.5
Kalamunda	ALP	2.5
Murray-Wellington	ALP	1.4
Pilbara	ALP	1.4
Jandakot	ALP	1.0
Kingsley	ALP	0.7
Joondalup	ALP	0.6
Dawesville	LIB – Held by Zak Kirkup MP	0.7
Geraldton	LIB	1.3
Hillarys	LIB	4.1
Riverton	LIB	4.4
Scarborough	LIB	5.6
Kalgoorlie	LIB	6.2
South Perth	LIB	7.1
Nedlands	LIB	8.3
Carine	LIB	9.0
Bateman	LIB	9.5
Churchlands	LIB	13.2
Cottesloe	LIB	13.3
Vasse	LIB	14.7
North West Central	NAT	9.5



Warren-Blackwood	NAT	13.4
Moore	NAT	18.0
Central Wheatbelt	NAT	22.6
Roe	NAT	26.0

Further Information

For more information, please contact your Hawker Britton Consultant <u>Simon Banks</u> on +61 419 648 587.