

Current composition of the Australian Parliament August 2020

House of Representatives

Coalition	Labor	Greens	Katter	Centre Alliance	Independents
77	68	1	1	1	3

• On 4 July 2020, a by-election in Eden-Monaro saw the retired Labor MP Mike Kelly replaced by Kristy McBain (ALP).

Senate

Coalition	Labor	Greens	One Nation	Centre Alliance	Jacki Lambie Network	CLP	Independents
35	26	9	2	1	1	1	1

- In February 2017, Senator Cory Bernardi (SA) resigned from the Liberal Party of Australia to form the Australian Conservatives party. Following the May 2019 election that party was deregistered by the AEC on 25 June 2019 at the Senator's request. Senator Bernardi now sits as an Independent.
- On 16 August 2019 Senator Mitchell Fifield resigned and, on the 12 September 2019 Hon. Sarah Henderson was sworn in to replace him.
- On 11 November 2019 Senator Arthur Sinodinos resigned and, on the 25 November 2019 Jim Molan, AO, DSC was sworn in to replace him.
- On 20 January 2020, Cory Bernardi resigned from and on 6 February 2020, Andrew McLachlan was appointed to fill the vacancy. As Bernardi was elected as a Liberal Party member in 2016, his replacement must also be from the Liberal Party.
- On 10 August 2020, Senator Rex Patrick announced that he will represent South Australia as an independent senator.

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton consultant Simon Banks on +61 419 638 587

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 3 9034 3020 Level 1, 55 Exhibition Street MELBOURNE VIC 3000

HB-