

Current composition of the Australian Parliament September 2018

House of Representatives

Coalition	Labor	Greens	Katter	Centre Alliance	Independents	Confidence and supply only	Vacancies
74	69	1	1	1	2	1	1

- On 26 October 2017 Deputy PM Barnaby Joyce was declared ineligible by the High Court to sit under Section 44(i.) of the Constitution. He was returned to Parliament at a by-election in the seat of New England on 2 December 2017.
- On 10 November 2017 Liberal MP John Alexander resigned amid uncertainty over his eligibility to sit under Section 44(i.). He was returned to Parliament at a by-election in the seat of Bennelong on 16 December 2017.
- On 1 February 2018 Labor MP David Feeney resigned amid uncertainty over his eligibility to sit under Section 44(i.). A by-election in the seat was won by Labor's Ged Kearney on 17 March 2018.
- On 2 May 2018 Labor MP Tim Hammond resigned from Parliament citing family reasons. Labor's Patrick Gorman was elected at a by-election held on 28 July 2018.
- On 9 May 2018, following the precedent set by the High Court's decision on Katy Gallagher's eligibility, the
 following MPs resigned from Parliament due to their belief they are ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.): Labor's
 Justine Keay (Braddon), Susan Lamb (Longman) and Justin Wilson (Fremantle), and Centre Alliance's Rebekha
 Sharkie (Mayo). All incumbent members were re-elected at by-elections held on 28 July 2018.
- On 31 August 2018 Malcolm Turnbull resigned from Parliament. A by-election will be held in the seat of Wentworth at a yet to be determined date.
- National Party MP for Page Kevin Hogan announced he will sit on the crossbench beginning on 10 September 2018, but guaranteeing confidence and supply to the Government.

Senate

Coalition	Labor	Greens	One Nation	Centre Alliance	LDP	Hinch (Justice Party)	Australian Conservatives	Katter	United Australia	Independents
31	26	9	2	2	1	1	1	1	1	1

- On 7 February 2017, Senator Cory Bernardi resigned from the Liberal Party and formed his own party, the Australian Conservatives.
- On 9 May 2017 Lucy Gihuchi was sworn in to replace Bob Day as a Family First Senator after he was declared ineligible to sit under Section 44(v). She resigned from the party shortly before taking her seat and sat as an independent. On 2 February 2018, Senator Gichuhi joined the Liberal Party.
- On 26 October 2017 One Nation Senator Malcolm Roberts and Greens senators Larissa Waters and Scott Ludlam were declared ineligible to sit by the High Court under Section 44(i.). On 13 November 2017 they were replaced, respectively, by Fraser Anning, Andrew Bartlett and Jordon Steele-John. On 4 June 2018 Anning announced he would join Katter's Australian Party.
- On 26 October 2017 Nationals Senator Fiona Nash was declared ineligible to sit by the High Court under Section 44(i.). Her replacement via countback was Hollie Hughes, who was subsequently found to be ineligible to sit under Section 44(iv.). As a result, Jim Molan was declared elected as the next candidate on the Coalition Senate ticket. He sits as a Liberal Senator.
- On 31 October 2017 Nick Xenophon resigned in order to contest the South Australian State Election on 17
 March 2018. Rex Patrick was sworn in as his replacement on 15 November 2017, after a joint sitting of the South
 Australian Parliament chose him to fill the casual vacancy.



- On 2 November 2017 Liberal Senator Stephen Parry resigned from the Senate after confirming he was ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.). On 5 February 2018 the High Court declared that Richard Colbeck was duly elected as Parry's replacement. Mr Colbeck was sworn in on 12 February 2018.
- On 14 November 2017 Jacqui Lambie resigned from the Senate after confirming she was ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.). On 6 February 2018 the High Court declared Steve Martin as Lambie's eligible replacement. On 7 February Ms Lambie removed Mr Martin from her party, the Jacqui Lambie Network. Mr Martin was sworn in on 12 February 2018. He and sat as an independent Senator until announcing he will sit as a National Party Senator on 28 May 2018.
- On 11 December 2017 Labor Senator Sam Dastyari resigned. His successor Kristina Keneally was sworn in by the Senate on 15 February 2018, following a joint sitting of New South Wales Parliament on 14 February 2018.
- On 22 November 2017 Nick Xenophon Team Senator Skye Kakoschke-Moore resigned and announced she would refer herself to the High Court after confirming she was ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.). Tim Storer was declared her valid replacement and was sworn in on 19 March 2018. He sits as an independent.
- On 5 December 2017 Labor Senator Katy Gallagher referred herself to the High Court amid uncertainty over her eligibility to sit under Section 44(i.). On 9 May 2018 Gallagher was declared ineligible to sit by the High Court. On 23 May 2018 the Hight Court declared David Smith as Ms Gallagher's eligible replacement. Mr Smith was sworn in on 18 June 2018.
- On 8 February 2018 Liberal National Party Senator George Brandis resigned with immediate effect. Amanda Stoker was sworn in as his replacement on 22 March 2018.
- On 14 June 2018 Brian Burston announced his defection from One Nation. He now sits as a representative of the United Australia Party.
- On 20 August 2018 Mehreen Faruqi was sworn in as the replacement for retiring New South Wales Greens Senator Lee Rhiannon.
- On 10 September 2018 Larissa Waters was sworn in as the replacement for Queensland Greens Senator Andrew Bartlett.