HawkerBritton Government Relations Strategy

Nick Xenophon Team change name to Centre Alliance

April 2018

On 10 April 2018 the management committee of the Nick Xenophon Team (NXT) announced it had lodged an application with the Australia Electoral Commission to change its name to Centre Alliance.

The South Australian-based Nick Xenophon's SA-BEST will now be known only as SA-BEST. Centre Alliance will continue to maintain a close relationship with its State-based counterpart

The name change comes after Nick Xenophon unsuccessfully contested the South Australian seat of Hartley at the 2018 State Election. Xenophon stated the name change was 'necessary and welcome'.

Centre Alliance members in Federal Parliament will be allowed to vote on legislation as they see fit, and advocate on issues of importance to their constituents.

Parliamentary representation

Centre Alliance

Three Centre Alliance members sit in the Federal Parliament. Rebekha Sharkie was elected at the 2016 Federal Election as the Member for Mayo. Stirling Griff was elected as a Senator for South Australia at the 2016 Federal Election. Rex Patrick was appointed Senator for South Australia in 2017, following the resignation of Nick Xenophon.

Senators Patrick and Griff will both face re-election in two elections' time, having been elected on six-year terms.

In November 2017 former NXT Senator Skye Kakoschke-Moore resigned and announced she would refer herself to the High Court after confirming she was ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.) of the Constitution. Tim Storer was declared her replacement by the High Court but sits as an independent Senator.

SA-BEST

Two SA-BEST members sit in the South Australian Parliament. Connie Bonaros and Frank Pangallo were elected as SA-BEST Legislative Council members at the recent 2018 South Australian Election.

Bonaros and Pangallo will both face re-election in two elections' time, having been elected on eightyear terms.

Further information

For further information, contact <u>Simon Banks</u> on +61 419 638 587 or <u>Stephen Halliday</u> on +61 418 808 799.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL 08 8130 1911 Level 8, 44 Waymouth Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

HB