## HawkerBritton

Government Relations Strategy

## Current composition of the Australian Parliament November 2017

On Monday 27 November 2017 the Senate will sit independently of the House of Representatives. The House will sit next on the week commencing 4 December 2017, with the potential to sit a further week if the legislation to legalise same-sex marriage has not been passed through both houses of Parliament.

This Paper outlines the current composition of the House of Representatives and the Senate.

## **House of Representatives**

Barnaby Joyce and John Alexander will both face by-elections in the seats of New England (December 2 2017) and Bennelong (December 16 2017), respectively. This follows Alexander's resignation due to his belief that he is ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.) of the Australian Constitution, and the High Court's finding that Joyce held New Zealand citizenship.

The Government, not including the vote of Speaker Tony Smith, now commands 73 votes in the House. Independent Member for Indi Cathy McGowan and Nick Xenophon Team Member for Mayo Rebekha Sharkie have guaranteed the Government their support on matters of confidence and supply.

As a result of these changes, the current composition of the House of Representatives is detailed below:

Coalition	Labor	Greens	Katter	Nick Xenophon Team	Independents	Vacancies
74 (73)	69	1	1	1	2	2

## Senate

On Monday 13 November 2017 the Governor General attended the Senate and swore in senators declared elected by the High Court. Senators Jordon Steele-John (Greens – Western Australia), Andrew Bartlett (Greens – Queensland) and Fraser Anning (formerly Pauline Hanson's One Nation – Queensland) replaced former senators Scott Ludlam, Larissa Waters and Malcolm Roberts, all found ineligible by the High Court under Section 44(i.).

On 22 November 2017 Skye Kakoschke-Moore resigned from the Senate and announced that she would refer herself to the High Court after receiving advice she is a dual citizen. On 15 November 2017 the High Court found Hollie Hughes ineligible to replace the disqualified Fiona Nash, after she was found to have breached Section 44(iv.). The High Court is yet to determine the next eligible candidates for both Kakoschke-Moore and Nash's Senate seats.

On 14 November 2017 Jacqui Lambie resigned from the Senate after she confirmed she was ineligible to sit under Section 44(i.). On 15 November 2017 Senator Rex Patrick was sworn in following the retirement of Nick Xenophon.

The composition of the Senate as of 22 November 2017 is detailed below:

Coalition	Labor	Greens	One Nation	Nick Xenophon Team	LDP	Hinch (Justice Party)	Conservative	Independents	Vacancies
27	26	9	3	2	1	1	1	2	4

For more information, please contact Hawker Britton consultant Simon Banks on +61 419 638 587.

