

South Australia-Northern Territory Strategic Partnership Agreement

May 2017

On 24 May 2017, the South Australian and Northern Territory governments signed a new Strategic Partnership Agreement to strengthen the economic and cultural alliance between the bordering jurisdictions.

Signed in Alice Springs by the NT and SA governments in a join cabinet meeting, the <u>Agreement</u> establishes a new framework for collaboration and joint investment in mutual priorities, ensuring a united voice on the federal stage across key policy areas.

The Agreement replaces the previous Memorandum of Understanding between the two jurisdictions, signed by the Weatherill Labor Government and the former Giles Country Liberal Party Government. It provides for a yearly meeting between the two heads of government to set policy priorities for the forthcoming 12 months.

Five priority areas have been identified by the NT and SA governments for the first year of the agreement:

- Road infrastructure upgrades to support transport between the jurisdictions
- The forming of an international engagement, trade and investment action plan including collaboration on joint international trade missions
- Additional development of the Explorers Way as an iconic national tourist attraction, intertwined with the Territory's \$100 million Iconic National Indigenous Art Trail initiative, including a National Indigenous Art Gallery project in Alice Springs
- Identification of methods to support the jurisdictions' most vulnerable and disadvantaged children, particularly those in regional and remote areas
- Collaboration and joint national advocacy to ensure high-quality disability services, regional jobs and business opportunities flow through the National Disability Insurance Scheme

The Agreement identifies deeper engagement with the Asian region as a key ambition. It recognises the potential to leverage each jurisdictions' existing international relationships and foster a collaborative approach to grow their economic and cultural ties across Asia.

The Northern Territory was controlled by South Australia for 49 years until 1911, a decade after federation, when the Northern Territory was annexed from South Australia and transferred to Commonwealth control. In 1978, the Territory gained full independence as a jurisdiction.



Further Information

More information on the Strategic Partnership Agreement is available <u>here</u>.

For more information contact your Northern Territory Hawker Britton consultant <u>Claire March</u> on 0403 937 849, or your South Australia consultant <u>Stephen Halliday</u> on 0418 808 799.