

Queensland (state) electoral redistribution

May 2017

On Friday 26 May 2017, the Electoral Commission of Queensland's <u>Queensland Redistribution</u> <u>Commission</u> handed down its final boundaries under the state electoral redistribution.

The finalised boundaries can be accessed <u>here</u>.

A three-week appeals period will now open before the redistributed boundaries become effective. The Queensland State Electoral Roll will then be updated, a process which will be completed by mid-September.

This Occasional Paper will provide:

- an overview of the background behind the redistribution;
- outline a summary of party standings;
- detail key determinations including new and abolished seats; and
- list seats re-named under the Commission's final determination.

Background

The redistribution increases the number of seats in the Queensland Parliament from 89 to 93 following Parliament voting to increase the number of seats by four in 2016.

In Queensland, an electoral redistribution is mandated under the following circumstances:

- Either:
 - o one year after the third election held following the previous redistribution; or
 - 7.5 years after the previous redistribution was finalized (whichever is the latter);

or

• Before then if a third of seats are over quota for two successive months. ("over quota" is defined as being 10 per cent over the 32,204 quota).

The current electoral boundaries have been in place since 10 September 2008.

This redistribution process commenced one year after the current boundaries had been in place for three successive general elections.

The new boundaries will come into effect at the next state election, due by 5 May 2018.

Summary of party standings

Parties	ALP	LNP	PHON	КАР	Independents	TOTAL
Seats on current margin	42	41	1	2	3	89
Seats on new notional margin	47	44	N/A	1	1	93

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 7 3188 8402 Postal Address: GPO Box 609 BRISBANE QLD 4001 Street Address: Suite 14, 25 Mary Street BRISBANE QLD 4000



Key determinations

New seats include:

- **Bancroft** new notional Labor (8.3%)seat in the Deception Bay area.
- **Bonney** new notional LNP (2.0%) seat in the northern Gold Coast area.
- **Hill** new notional LNP (2.9%) seat in the Atherton Tablelands area in Far North Queensland.
- Jordan new notional Labor (13.7%) seat in the Ipswich area.
- Maiwar new notional LNP (3.0%) seat created from the merged Mt Coot-tha and Indooroopilly electorates.
- Ninderry new notional LNP (6.7%) seat in the northern Sunshine Coast area.

Seats to be abolished include:

- The seat of **Mt Coot-tha** is abolished and largely merging with neighbouring Indooroopilly in the new notional LNP (3.0%) seat of Maiwar, with minor parts being absorbed with the new notional Labor (3.3%) seat of **Cooper** (which replaces the current seat of **Ashgrove**).
- The seat of **Dalrymple** will be abolished and absorbed with the neighbouring seats of **Mount** Isa, Traeger and Burdekin.
- The seat of **Albert** abolished and replaced with the notional Labor (6.2%) seat of **MacAlister**.

Seats with changed names

The following seats have been re-named:

- **Cooper**, replaces the current seat of **Ashgrove**;
- Kurwongbah, replaces the current seat of Kallangur;
- Macalister, replaces the current seat of Albert;
- McConnel, replaces the current seat of Brisbane Central;
- Miller, replaces the current seat of Yeerongpilly;
- Oodgeroo, replaces the current seat of Cleveland
- Scenic Rim replaces the current seat of Beaudesert;
- Toohey, replaces the current seat of Sunnybank; and
- Traeger, replaces the current seat of Mount Isa.

Further information

For further information, contact your <u>Eamonn Fitzpatrick</u> on +61 401 719 488.