HawkerBritton Government Relations Strategy

Premier McGowan announces major changes to Western Australia Public Service

April 2017

Premier Mark McGowan today announced that the number of government departments will be reduced from 41 to 25, with 40 per cent of departments to be amalgamated or abolished.

The Premier's announcement is in line with WA Labor's pre-election commitment to deliver multi-million dollar cost savings from the public service to assist with much needed budget repair. WA Labor pledged to deliver a Service Priority Review of government agencies targeting \$750million of savings over four years.

The changes will take effect from 1 July 2017.

There will be a reshuffle of senior executives with new director generals instructed to deliver a 20 per cent reduction in the 521-member Senior Executive Service.

The full Service Priority Review when released will deliver further structural changes and savings.

New Department	Current Departments
Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation	Department of State Development Department of Commerce (Industry promotion and innovation functions) Western Australian Tourism Commission (trading as Tourism WA)
Department of Mines, Industry, Regulation and Safety	Department of Mines and Petroleum Department of Commerce (Regulatory functions and Labour Relations)
Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development	Department of Agriculture and Food Department of Regional Development Department of Fisheries Regional Development Commissions
Department of Community Services	Department of Child Protection and Family Support Department of Housing (includes Housing Authority) Disability Services Commission Department of Local Government and Communities (communities functions, including seniors, volunteering, youth and multicultural interests)
Department of Justice	Department of the Attorney General Department of Corrective Services
Department of Education	Department of Education Department of Education Services School Curriculum and Standards Authority
Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage	Department of Planning Department of Lands State Heritage Office
Department of Biodiversity Conservation and	Department of Parks and Wildlife

Amalgamated Departments

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB



Attractions	Botanical Gardens and Parks Authority
	Zoological Parks Authority
	Rottnest Island Authority
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural	Department of Local Government and Communities (Local
Industries	Government functions)
	Department of Culture and the Arts
	Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor
	Department of Sport and Recreation
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation	Department of Water
	Department of Environment Regulation
	Office of the Environmental Protection Agency
Western Australia Police	Western Australia Police
	Road Safety Commission (staff only, entity will remain)

No Changes

These Departments remain the same, however changes may be identified in the future.

Current Departments – no changes	
Department of Fire and Emergency Services	Office of the Auditor General
Department of Health	Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
Mental Health Commission	Office of the Inspector of Custodial Services
Public Sector Commission	Western Australian Electoral Commission
Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission	

Change of Duties

These Departments will have some changes to their functions or focus. Additional changes may be identified in the future.

Current Departments – Change of Duties	
Department of Finance	Department of Training and Workforce Development
Department of the Premier and Cabinet	Department of Transport
Department of Treasury	

Further information.

More information regarding these changes is available <u>here</u>. For further information contact <u>Megan Anwyl</u> +61 417 949 900.