

WA Senate election 2014

February 2014

On 20 February 2014 the High Court, sitting as the Court of Disputed Returns, declared the 2013 Western Australian Senate election result void. As a result, on 28 February Western Australian Governor Malcolm McCusker issued the writ for a fresh election of six senators for Western Australia, to be held on 5 April 2014.

The AEC's media release on the election date announcement is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the High Court's findings on the Western Australian Senate election is available here.

2014 election timetable

Event	Requirements	2014 date
Issue of Writs		28 February
Close of Rolls	Close at 8pm, 7 days after writs are issued	7 March
Close of Nominations	12 noon, between 10 and 27 days from writs	13 March
Declaration of Nominations	24 hours after close of nominations	14 March
Lodgement of Senate Voting Tickets	48 hours after close of nominations	15 March
Polling Day	Between 23 and 31 days after close of nominations	5 April
Return of Writs	100 days after the issue of writs	8 June

State overview

Since the first six-seat half-Senate election in 1990, Western Australia has produced variations on a similar result: three seats for the Liberals, two for Labor and one for either the Greens or the Democrats. Until 2013, Western Australia had consistently elected three Liberals, two Labor and one Green to the Senate since 2004.

In 2013, candidates required 187 183 votes to fill a quota for a Senate seat. At the election, 1 348 797 of the 1 453 866 enrolled voters in Western Australia voted at 906 polling places across the state, representing a turnout rate of 92.77 per cent—the second lowest in the country. Western Australia also recorded the highest rate of pre-poll votes (4.69 per cent compared to 3.79 per cent nationally) and a lower than average rate of postal votes (6.98 per cent compared to 8.15 per cent nationally).

The impact of the fresh Senate election on turnout rates in Western Australia is unknown.

Current Senators

Term expires 2014	Term expires 2017		
Mark Bishop (ALP)	Chris Back (LIB)		
Michaelia Cash (LIB)	Mathias Cormann (LIB)		
Alan Eggleston (LIB)	Sue Lines (ALP)		
David Johnston (LIB)	Rachel Siewert (GRN)		
Scott Ludlam (GRN)	Dean Smith (LIB)		
Louise Pratt (ALP)	Glenn Sterle		

2013 election, recount and High Court decision

The election of WA senators was held in conjunction with the Federal election on 7 September 2013. On the first count, three Liberals (Senator the Hon David Johnston, Senator Michaelia Cash and Linda Reynolds) and one Labor candidate (Joe Bullock) were declared winners of the first four of six seats.

The initial count of the final two seats elected Zhenya 'Dio' Wang of the Palmer United Party and Labor's Senator Louise Pratt. The breakdown of the initial results is provided on the final page of this brief.

Following a request from the Australian Greens and the Australian Sports Party, a recount was ordered by the AEC on 10 October 2013. As a result of the recount of the results, the AEC declared Wayne Dropulich from the Australian Sports Party and Senator Scott Ludlam of The Australian Greens elected to the Senate.

During the recount, 1 375 votes—all of which had been verified during the initial WA Senate count—could not be located, rechecked or verified in the recount process. These votes were classified as 1 255 formal above-the-line ballots and 120 informal votes.

As a consequence, on 15 November 2013 the Electoral Commissioner lodged a petition with the Court of Disputed Returns in respect of the election of senators from Western Australia. The petition sought an order from the Court that the election of the six WA senators be declared void.

2013 candidates

At the 2013 election, the parties ran the following candidates.

The lists below however are not necessarily indicative of the candidates who will nominate for the 2014 poll as nominations for the fresh half-Senate election will be open until 12 noon on 13 March 2014.

Group Voting Tickets must be lodged by 15 March 2014.

Australian Labor Party	Liberal Party		
1. Joe Bullock	David Johnston		
2. Louise Pratt	2. Michaelia Cash		
3. Peter Foster	3. Linda Reynolds		
4. Suliman Ali	4. Slade Brockman		

Other parties

- The Greens ran sitting Senator Scott Ludlam as their lead candidate.
- The Nationals ran former AFL player David Wirrpanda and David Eagles.
- The Australian Sports Party ran Wayne Dropulich.
- The Palmer United Party ran Zhenya Wang and Chamonix Terblanche.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on Palmer's United Party is available here.

2013 results - First Count

Group	Votes	%	Swing	Quota
Australian Labor Party	348,401	26.59	-3.11	1.8613
Liberal	513,639	39.2	-3.79	2.744
The Nationals	66,421	5.07	1.64	0.3548
The Greens (WA)	124,354	9.49	-4.47	0.6643
Australian Fishing and Lifestyle Party	5,729	0.44	0.44	0.0306
Australian Independents	4,041	0.31	0.31	0.0216
Animal Justice Party	9,720	0.74	0.74	0.0519
Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party	7,748	0.59	0.59	0.0414
Shooters and Fishers	13,622	1.04	0.44	0.0728
Sex Party	19,519	1.49	-0.76	0.1043
Australian Christians	21,499	1.64	1.64	0.1149
Australian Democrats	3,841	0.29	-0.09	0.0205
Family First Party	8,783	0.67	-0.48	0.0469
Help End Marijuana Prohibition (HEMP) Party	13,973	1.07	1.07	0.0746
Katter's Australian Party	3,909	0.3	0.3	0.0209
Liberal Democrats	44,902	3.43	2.25	0.2399
Stop The Greens	2,215	0.17	0.17	0.0118
Palmer United Party	65,595	5.01	5.01	0.3504
Rise Up Australia Party	3,861	0.29	0.29	0.0206
Socialist Equality Party	1,143	0.09	0.09	0.0061
Smokers Rights	8,719	0.67	0.67	0.0466
Secular Party of Australia	1,486	0.11	0.03	0.0079
Stable Population Party	1,352	0.1	0.1	0.0072
Australian Sports Party	2,997	0.23	0.23	0.016
No Carbon Tax Climate Sceptics	1,481	0.11	-0.05	0.0079
Australian Voice Party	1,139	0.09	0.09	0.0061
The Wikileaks Party	9,767	0.75	0.75	0.0522
Unendorsed/Ungrouped Amalgamated	422	0.03	-0.52	0.0023
Senate Ghost Groups Amalgamated	0	0	-3.55	0
TOTAL	1,310,278			

 $Source\ AEC:\ http://results.aec.gov.au/17496/Website/SenateStateFirstPrefsByGroup-17496-WA.htm$