

## South Australian Ministry announced

## May 2014

On Saturday 15 March 2014 the South Australian state election was held. Labor won 23 of the 47 Lower House seats, with the Liberals securing 22 seats.

The remaining two seats, Fisher and Frome, were won by independents Dr Bob Such and Mr Geoff Brock respectively.

On Sunday 23 March 2014 Independent MP for the seat of Frome, Mr Geoff Brock announced he would support a Labor minority government in South Australia. This secured Labor's fourth consecutive term in office in South Australia.

Two Labor Ministers were defeated at the election, one retired and another, the Hon Tom Kenyon MP, retired from Cabinet after the poll, leaving four vacancies.

On Wednesday 26 March 2014 the new Cabinet was sworn in featuring the following new Ministers: the Hon Geoff Brock MP, the Hon Stephen Mullighan MP, the Hon Susan Close MP and the Hon Zoe Bettison MP.

On 27 May 2014 the Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP, former Leader of the South Australian Liberals and member for Waite, announced he had resigned from the South Australian Liberal Party and would sit on the crossbenches as an independent Liberal.

Following his resignation from the South Australian Liberals, Mr Hamilton-Smith signed an Agreement with Premier Weatherill to join cabinet. Mr Hamilton-Smith was appointed Minister for Investment and Trade, Defence Industries and Veterans' Affairs in the Weatherill Government and guarantees his support for the Government in key Parliamentary votes such as supply and no-confidence motions.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the election result is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the appointment of Mr Hamilton-Smith is available here.

The South Australian ministry list is provided on the following page.



## South Australian Ministry

The Hon Jay Weatherill MP Premier   The Hon John Rau MP Deputy Premier   Attorney-General Attorney-General	
Minister for Justice Reform	
Minister for Planning,	
Minister for Housing & Urban Development	
Minister for Industrial Relations	
The Hon Gail Gago MLC Minister for Employment, Higher Education & Skills	
Minister for Science and Information Economy	
Minister for the Status of Women	
Minister for Business Services and Consumers	
The Hon Jack Snelling MP Minister for Health	
Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse	
Minister for the Arts	
Minister for Health Industries	
The Hon Jennifer Rankine MP Minister for Education and Child Development	
he Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP Treasurer	
Minister for Finance	
Minister for State Development	
Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy	
Minister for Small Business	
The Hon Ian Hunter MLC Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation	
Minister for Water and the River Murray	
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation	
The Hon Tony Piccolo MP Minister for Disabilities	
Minister for Police	
Minister for Correctional Services	
Minister for Emergency Services	
Minister for Road Safety	
The Hon Leon Bignell MP Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries	
Minister for Forests	
Minister for Tourism	
Minister for Recreation and Sport	
Minister for Racing	
The Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP Minister for Investment and Trade	
Minister for Defence Industries	
Minister for Veterans' Affairs	
The Hon Geoff Brock MP Minister for Regional Development	
Minister for Local Government	
The Hon Zoe Bettison MP Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion	
Minister for Social Housing	
Minister for Multicultural Affairs	
Minister for Ageing	
Minister for Youth	
Minister for Volunteers	
The Hon Susan Close MP Minister for Manufacturing, Innovation and Trade	
Minister for Automotive Transformation	
Minister for the Public Sector	
The Hon Stephen Mullighan MP Minister for Transport and Infrastructure	
Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning	
Minister Assisting the Minister for Housing and Urban Development	