

## South Australia proposed time zone change

## February 2015

On 5 February 2015, Premier Hon. Jay Weatherill announced a proposal to change the time zone of South Australia to align the state's time with either Western Australia or the eastern states.

The Premier has cited issues raised by the business community as the reason for initiating a time zone change proposal.

Currently, South Australia's time zone is half an hour behind eastern states and 90 minutes ahead of Western Australia.

Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory all have a time zone of +10 UTC and Western Australia has a time zone of + 8 UTC.

South Australia's time zone is 9.5 hours ahead of UTC and is one of only seven places in the world with a half-hour reference point against UTC.

Minister for Investment and Trade Martin Hamilton-Smith has been appointed with the responsibility to consult with the public and business sector on a state wide basis to investigate whether South Australia's present time zone inhibits social and economic activities.

Mr Hamilton-Smith has said that the Northern Territory and the Broken Hill community in New South Wales will also be involved in the consultation process.

The Premier has said he recognises the concerns the public in the west coast may have with a change to an Eastern Standard Time Zone.

The Premier has said if feedback from consultation indicates that a change in the time zone will create jobs, improve public administration and scheduling of major events and sporting fixtures then the Government would consider introducing a change.

Business South Australian chief executive Nigel McBride has expressed support for a change in time zone however, Opposition Leader Steven Marshall has criticised the proposal.

The public can make a submission online via the South Australian Have Your Say website. <u>Click here</u> to view the online discussion.