

## **Shadow Ministry Appointments**

October 2013

On Friday 18 October 2013 Opposition Leader, the Hon. <u>Bill Shorten</u> MP, assigned Shadow Ministry portfolios and appointed the Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries.

These portfolio assignments and appointments follow on from the election of the Opposition front bench on Monday 14 October by the Federal Labor Caucus.

At the Caucus meeting, the Hon. <u>Tanya Plibersek</u> MP was elected as Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party, Senator the Hon. <u>Penny Wong</u> was elected Leader of the Opposition in the Senate and Senator the Hon. <u>Stephen Conroy</u> was elected Labor's Deputy Leader in the Senate.

The process for electing both the Labor Leader and Shadow Ministry this week followed the rules adopted by the Federal Labor Caucus at the 22 July 2013 special Caucus meeting. Under the rules, the power to pick the frontbench was returned to the Federal Labor Caucus.

The full list of Shadow Ministers and Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries and their portfolios can be found on the next page. A list of all other office holders of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party is also included.

## **Further information**

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the election of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Leadership and Shadow Ministry is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the direct election of the Hon. Bill Shorten MP as Federal Labor Leader is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the changes made earlier this year to the way leaders of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party are elected is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on announcement of the direct election of the Federal Labor Leader is available <u>here</u>.

Shadow Ministry		
The Hon. Bill Shorten MP	Leader of the Opposition	
The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP	Deputy Leader of the Opposition	
	Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International	
	Development	
Senator the Hon. Penny Wong	Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	
	Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment	
Senator the Hon. Stephen Conroy	Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	
The line Arthony Alberras MD	Shadow Minister for Defence	
The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP	Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Shadow Minister for Tourism	
The Hon. Sharon Bird MP	Shadow Minister for Vocational Education	
The Hon. Chris Bowen MP	Shadow Treasurer	
The Hon. Tony Burke MP	Shadow Minister for Finance	
	Manager of Opposition Business (House)	
The Hon. Mark Butler MP	Shadow Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water	
Senator the Hon. Doug Cameron	Shadow Minister for Human Services	
Senator the Hon. Kim Carr	Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Research, Innovation and	
	Industry	
	Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Science	
The Hon. Jason Clare MP	Shadow Minister for Communications	
The Hon. Julie Collins MP	Shadow Minister for Regional Development and Local Government	
	Shadow Minister for Employment Services	
The Hon. Mark Dreyfus MP	Shadow Attorney General	
	Shadow Minister for the Arts Deputy Manager of Opposition Business (House)	
The Hon. Kate Ellis MP	Shadow Minister for Education	
	Shadow Minister for Early Childhood	
Senator the Hon. Don Farrell	Shadow Minister for Veterans' Affairs	
	Shadow Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC	
The Hon. David Feeney MP	Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence	
	Shadow Minister for Justice	
The Hon. Joel Fitzgibbon MP	Shadow Minister for Agriculture	
The Hon. Gary Gray AO MP	Shadow Minister for Resources	
	Shadow Minister for Northern Australia	
The Hon. Catherine King MP	Shadow Special Minister of State Shadow Minister for Health	
The Hon. Andrew Leigh MP	Shadow Assistant Treasurer	
The fight Andrew Leigh WIF	Shadow Minister for Competition	
The Hon. Jenny Macklin MP	Shadow Minister for Families and Payments	
	Shadow Minister for Disability Reform	
The Hon. Richard Marles MP	Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection	
Senator the Hon. Jan McLucas	Shadow Minister for Mental Health	
	Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness	
Senator Claire Moore	Shadow Minister for Women	
	Manager of Opposition Business (Senate)	

	Shadow Minister for Carers
	Shadow Minister for Communities
The Hon. Shayne Neumann MP	Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs
	Shadow Minister for Ageing
The Hon. Brendan O'Connor MP	Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
The Hon. Melissa Parke MP	Shadow Assistant Minister for Health
The Hon. Bernie Ripoll MP	Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation
	Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Small Business
	Shadow Minister for Sport
Ms Michelle Rowland MP	Shadow Assistant Minister for Communications
	Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multiculturalism

Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries	
Ms Gai Brodtmann MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
	Federal Parliamentary Labor Caucus Secretary
Sen. Carol Brown	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Families and Payments
Dr Jim Chalmers MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Trade and Investment
Sen. the Hon. Jacinta Collins	Shadow Cabinet Secretary
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
The Hon. Michael Danby MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts
The Hon. Ed Husic MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Treasurer
Mr Stephen Jones MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and
	Infrastructure
Ms Julie Owens MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Education
Sen. Helen Polley	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Aged Care
Sen. Louise Pratt	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment, Climate
	Change and Water
The Hon. Amanda Rishworth MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Health
Sen. the Hon. Lisa Singh	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Attorney General
The Hon. Warren Snowdon MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for External Territories
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Northern Australia
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Indigenous Affairs
The Hon. Matt Thistlethwaite MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs
	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration
Mr Tony Zappia MP	Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Manufacturing

Other office holders of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party		
Mr Chris Hayes MP	Chief Opposition Whip	
Ms Jill Hall MP	Deputy Opposition Whip	
Mr Rob Mitchell MP	Second Deputy Speaker	
Sen. Gavin Marshall	Deputy Senate President	
	Federal Parliamentary Labor Caucus Chair	
Senator Anne McEwen	Opposition Whip in the Senate	